Campbell and Banks All Big 12

End-of-year football honors are being handed out, which includes the All-Big 12 team voted on by the league's coaches. For K-State, Ian Campbell and Brandon Banks were the top honorees.

His numbers weren't as fancy, but Kansas State defensive end Ian Campbell continues to earn the respect from the Big 12 Conference coaches.

Campbell was the lone Wildcat to be voted to either the first- or second-team all-Big 12 unit. A native of Cimarron, Kan., Campbell recorded 47 total tackles during his senior season in 2008, including 8.0 for losses, with 4.5 sacks and a school-record three blocked field goals.

Campbell recorded his best games of the 2008 season against Louisiana and Iowa State, carding 11 tackles, 1.5 sacks and a pass break up against the Ragin' Cajuns, while closing out his career with 10 stops and a blocked field goal against the Cyclones.

Campbell ranks sixth in school history with 20.5 career sacks and compiled 37.5 tackles for loss in his career.

The other top honoree was Brandon Banks, who was voted as the Offensive Newcomer of the Year. Banks became the second straight Wildcat to earn offensive newcomer of the year accolades after Deon Murphy took the honor in 2007.

In all, Kansas State has now had eight players earn conference newcomer of the year honors since 1996.

The 5-foot-7, 142-pound Banks caught 67 passes for 1,049 yards and nine touchdowns. He is the sixth player in school history to reach 1,000 receiving yards.

Banks also contributed on special teams in 2008 as he collected 498 yards on 18 kickoff returns and five punt returns for 58 yards. His 98-yard kickoff return against Nebraska tied for the fifth-longest in school history.

Banks' 1,731 total all-purpose yardage in 2008 ranks fifth in single-season school history, while his 144.2 all-purpose yards per game mark checks in at No. 8 on the K-State single-season records chart.

Honorable mention all-Big 12 honors went to Banks (WR, PR, KR), Jordan Bedore (OL), Brandon Harold (DL), Eric Childs (DL), Joshua Moore (DB), Brooks Rossman (PK) and Nick Stringer (OL).

Purple Pride Top Stories