Football Awards Handed Out

Daniel Thomas, Jeffrey Fitzgerald and Corey Adams were the top honorees Sunday evening as Kansas State held its awards ceremony for the 2009 season.

The final curtain came down on the 2009 Kansas State football year Sunday with the presentation of the awards.

Named as tri-Players of the Year were Daniel Thomas on offense, Jeffrey Fitzgerald on defense and Corey Adams on special teams.

Named as the Most Improved Wildcats were Tysyn Hartman on defense and Clyde Aufner on offense.

Nick Stringer was named the Top Offensive Lineman, while Fitzgerald won the honor for the Defensive Front Seven.

Other awards included:

OVERACHIEVER (top freshman in strength and conditioning):
Braden Wilson

RED RAIDER (top scout team member):
Sammuel Lamur

Jeron Mastrud

PURPLE PRIDE (top walkon):
Nick Ward

Zach Kendall

KEVIN SAUNDERS (never give up):
Grant Gregory

NANCY BENNETT MEMORIAL (representing fight and spirit):
John Houlik

ANTHONY BATES MEMORIAL ( promoting team unity):
Ulla Pomele

JOAN FRIEDERICH (representing team concept):
Carson Coffman

JIM ‘SHORTY' KLEINAU (representing loyalty):
Collin Klein

Frank Tracz, Director of Marching Bands

Purple Pride Top Stories