Baseball Honors

LAWRENCE, Kan. -- Three players from the University of Kansas baseball team were honored as part of the Big 12 Conference's 2004 Academic All-Big 12 first and second teams, conference officials announced Tuesday.

Seniors Ryan Baty and Chris Smart garnered first team honors, while senior Matt Tribble was listed among second team members. Baty, a communications studies major, finished his Kansas career one hit shy of tying the career record of 274. In the final game of the season he broke the KU hit streak record with a 21-game streak.

Smart leaves Kansas in third place on the all-time appearance list with 73. In 2004, Smart carried a record of 5-6 in 21 appearances including seven starts.

Tribble finished a four-year career as one of the most prolific outfielders in KU history. Tribble committed only two errors in 226 chances while playing rightfield for the Jayhawks. The Wheaton, Ill., native ranks second in career games played with 219 and is the Kansas career leader with 825 at-bats.

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the baseball academic all-league squad consisted of 29 first-team members combined with 17 on the second team. First-team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, while the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his team's scheduled contests. Pitchers must have at least one inning pitched per game played by the team or have appeared in 35 percent of their team's total games. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation also are eligible.

The Jayhawks (31-31-1) finished their 2004 season last weekend by sweeping Kansas State in a three-game series. It was the first conference series sweep since 1999 and the first under head coach Ritch Price. Top Stories