Three Jayhawks Earn Big 12 Academic Honors

Kansas' Aaron Miles, Christian Moody and Michael Lee named Academic All-Big 12.<br>

DALLAS - The Big 12 Conference named 17 student-athletes to the 2005
Men's Basketball Academic All-Big 12 teams, the league announced.

Among the honorees, Nebraska's Bronsen Schliep was the only individual
to record a 4.00 grade point average. The Fairfield, Nebraska native
receives the first academic-all Big 12 award of his career.

NU placed a league-leading five players on the academic squad, which
were all first-team selections. The Huskers' John Turek and Tony
Wilbrand have made the most appearances on the conference academic team
with three honors each. Eight others earn their second accolade:
senior Scott Senger (Colorado); senior Aaron Miles and junior Christian
Moody (Kansas); junior Jason Dourisseau and senior Jake Muhleisen
(Nebraska); seniors Terrence Crawford and Stephen Graham, and junior
Frans Steyn (Oklahoma State).

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support
services and the media relations offices, the men's basketball academic
all-league squad consisted of 12 first team members combined with five
on the second team. First team members include those who have
maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have
a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either
cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in
60 percent of his team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are
not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior
student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and
meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The student-athletes on the squads will participate at the 2005 Phillips
66 Big 12 Conference Men's Basketball Tournament, scheduled for March
10-13 at Kemper Arena in Kansas City, Mo.

2005 MEN'S BASKETBALL Academic All-Big 12 TEAM

First Team (3.20-plus grade point average; *indicates 4.00 GPA)

Second Team (3.00 to 3.19 GPA)

  • Brien Mattingly, Colorado
  • Scott Senger, Colorado
  • Michael Lee, Kansas
  • Stephen Graham, Oklahoma State
  • Frans Steyn, Oklahoma State

Story courtesy: Top Stories