The "Blarge Ness Monster"

In Kentucky's win over Arkansas Tuesday night, Marquis Teague collided with Arkansas forward Marvell Waithe. A blocking foul was initially called, but a discussion ensued among the officials. The end result? A "blarge" was called. Is it a real call? Was it correct? The Southeastern Conference addressed the issue this afternoon.

First, let's set the stage.

At the 12:48 mark of the 1st half, Kentucky's Teague drove the lane on the offensive end of the court. He was being defended by # 1 for Arkansas, Mardracus Wade.

Teague beat Wade off the dribble, and as he drove into the lane, Wade reached in to try to knock the ball away. He did not contact the ball, and if he contacted Teague, it was negligible. No foul was called on Wade.

Sitting in the lane was # 22 for Arkansas, Marvell Waithe. Teague collided into Waithe, and the official under the basket (Mike Nance) made an immediate blocking call, with the appropriate referee signal for same.

Out of television view, official Tony Greene also blew his whistle. Greene was at center court, trailing the play. A discussion between Nance and Greene ensued.

KSR regular BarristerCat provided feedback on what occurred, sitting close behind the scorer's table. "When (Nance) came out toward the scorer's table to signal in the call, Greene intercepted him," BarristerCat explained on a Kentucky Sports Report message board post. Greene must have asked him whether he got a good look at it (I was looking at the back of Greene's head) and (Nance)said 'Yeah, I got a good look. It was a block.' Then there was an exchange between the two and they approached the scorer's table."

At that point, the "Blarge Ness Monster" made its appearance.

A block was called. And so was a charge. And both fouls stuck. Yes, it was a "blarge"--a rare--but real--call made by the officials. Craig Pinkerton, Director of Media Relations for the Southeastern Conference explained.

"The officials called a 'blarge' on the play you have mentioned," Pinkerton replied in response to KSR. "A 'blarge' occurs when one official calls and signals the result of a contact between an offensive and a defensive player to be a 'block' while nearly simultaneously another official calls and signals it to be a 'charge.' A 'blarge' is ruled to be a double foul and possession is determined by the alternating possession arrow."

So there you have it--a simple "double foul" where the wrongful contact was initiated by the offensive player. Or by the defensive player. Or if you can't decide--it's a "blarge."

AllWildcats Top Stories