Lorenzen named to O'Brien Award watch list

After leading the SEC in passing last season, Jared Lorenzen has been placed on a preseason watch list for the nation's top QB...

LEXINGTON, Ky.  --- Kentucky's Jared Lorenzen is one of four Southeastern Conference players who has been named to the preseason watch list for the 2001 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

Lorenzen, a sophomore, led the SEC in passing last season. He was second in the league with 19 touchdowns and shattered numerous NCAA records for freshmen, inlcuding: total offensive yardage (3,827), passing yards (3,687), completions (321), attempts (559), total offensive plays (635) and total offensive plays per game (57.7). His 528 yards passing against Georgia broke Tim Couch's school record.

Ironically, Lorenzen is not assured the Wildcats' starting job this season. The 6-foot-4, 275-pound left-hander is being challenged by redshirt freshman Shane Boyd, who UK coach Guy Morriss describes as an equally-talented player with less experience.

In addition to Lorenzen, the SEC is represented on the list by LSU's Rohan Davey, Tennessee's Casey Clausen and Florida's Rex Grossman.

The other 26 candidates on the watch list are: Kyle Boller, California, Jr.; Eric Crouch, Nebraska, Sr.; Woodrow Dantzler, Clemson, Sr..; Ken Dorsey, Miami (Fla.), Jr.; David Carr, Fresno State, Sr.; Ronald Curry, North Carolina, Sr.; K.C. Enzminger, New Mexico State, Sr.; Mark Farris, Texas A&M, Jr.; David Garrard, East Carolina, Sr.; George Godsey, Georgia Tech, Sr.; Joey Harrington, Oregon, Sr.; Jeff Kelly, Southern Mississippi, Sr.; Kliff Kingsbury, Texas Tech, Jr.; Kurt Kittner, Illinois, Sr.; Zak Kustok, Northwestern, Sr.; Byron Leftwich, Marshall, Jr.; David Neill, Nevada, Sr.; Carson Palmer, USC, Jr.; David Priestley, Pittsburg, Sr.; Casey Printers, TCU, Jr.; Dave Ragone, Louisville, Jr.; Patrick Ramsey, Tulane, Sr.; Philip Rivers, North Carolina State, So.; Chris Simms, Texas, Jr.; Jonathan Smith, Oregon State, Sr.; and Jason Thomas, UNLV, Jr.

The Davey O'Brien Advisory Committee is comprised of nationally known sportswriters and commentators. They will select eight semifinalists the first week of November and vote again the week of Thanksgiving to select the winner and two runners-up.

The winner of the 2001 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced Dec. 6, 2001, during ESPN's Home Depot College Football Awards Show in Orlando, Fla. All three quarterbacks will be honored at the 25th annual O'Brien Awards Dinner in February 2002, at The Fort Worth Club.

The O'Brien Award is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien, the All-American and Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback for Texas Christian University who led the Horned Frogs to the 1938 national championship.


AllWildcats Top Stories