Reed named SEC Male Athlete of Year

Kentucky's A.J. Reed has added another eye-catching prize to his trophy room for 2014.

The Wildcats' junior first baseman/pitcher was named the Southeastern Conference Male Athlete of the Year on Tuesday by the league's athletics directors. Florida softball standout Hannah Rogers claimed the Female Athlete of the Year award.

Sign up for AllWildcats!

"AJ and Hannah are true examples of outstanding student-athletes," SEC Commissioner Mike Slive said in a statement released by the league office. "They have competed at the highest level of collegiate athletics, and through their hard work, dedication and commitment to excellence, have been successful in their endeavors. They are fine representatives of their universities and this conference. The SEC is proud to honor them for their accomplishments."

Reed, who was drafted and signed with the Houston Astros organization in June, is the seventh UK player to be voted SEC Athlete of the Year, joining Anthony Davis (2012), Tim Couch (1999), Jenny Hansen (1995), Jamal Mashburn (1993), Kyle Macy (1980) and Jack Givens (1978).

Only five SEC baseball players have won the award. Reed joined Vanderbilt's David Price (2007), South Carolina's Kip Bouknight (2000), Tennessee's Todd Helton (1995) and Mississippi State's Will Clark (1985). Two-sport stars Bo Jackson (1986) of Auburn and Buck Belue (1982) of Georgia also won the award while playing football and baseball.

He had previously been named National Player of the Year by Collegiate Baseball and the American Baseball Coaches Association, the College Player of the Year by Baseball America and won the 2014 Dick Howser Trophy, presented by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association. He also won the John Olerud Award, given to the top two-way player in the nation.

A consensus first-team All-America selection and the 2014 SEC Player of the Year, Reed had one of the most decorated seasons in the history of college baseball. The national leader in homers (23), slugging (.735), and OPS (1.211), Reed also led the conference in wins (12), RBI (73), walks (49), total bases (164) and on-base percentage (.476).

Reed was the first player in SEC history to lead the conference in homers and pitching victories. He finished his season with more homers than 185 teams in college baseball, including six SEC teams.

2013 - Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M (football) and Allison Schmitt, Georgia (swimming)
2012 - Anthony Davis, Kentucy (basketball) and Brooke Pancake, Alabama (golf)
2011 - John-Patrick Smith, Tennessee (tennis) and Kayla Hoffman, Alabama (gymnastics)
2010 - Mark Ingram, Alabama (football) and Susan Jackson, LSU (gymnastics)
2009 - Tim Tebow, Florida (football) and Courtney Kupets, Georgia (gymnastics)
2008 - Tim Tebow, Florida (football) and Candace Parker, Tennessee (basketball)
2007 - David Price, Vanderbilt (baseball) and Monica Abbott, Tennessee (softball)
2006 - Xavier Carter, LSU (track & field) and Seimone Augustus, LSU (basketball)
2005 - Ryan Lochte, Florida (swimming) and Kirsty Coventry, Auburn (swimming)
2004 - Alistair Cragg, Arkansas (cross country/track) and Jeana Rice, Alabama (gymnastics)
2003 - Alistair Cragg, Arkansas (cross country/track) and LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State (basketball)
2002 - Walter Davis, LSU (track & field) and Andree' Pickens, Alabama (gymnastics)
2001 - Matias Boeker, Georgia (tennis) and Amy Yoder Begley, Arkansas (cross country/track)
2000 - Kip Bouknight, South Carolina (baseball) and Kristy Kowal, Georgia (swimming)
1999 - Tim Couch, Kentucky (football) and Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (basketball)
1998 - Peyton Manning, Tennessee (football) and Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (basketball)
1997 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida (football) and Trinity Johnson, South Carolina (softball)
1996 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida (football) and Saudia Roundtree, Georgia (basketball)
1995 - Todd Helton, Tennessee (baseball) and Jenny Hansen, Kentucky (gymnastics)
1994 - Corliss Williamson, Arkansas (basketball) and Nicole Haislett, Florida (swimming)
1993 - Jamal Mashburn, Kentucky (basketball) and Nicole Haislett, Florida (swimming)
1992 - Shaquille O'Neal, LSU (basketball) and Vicki Goetze, Georgia (golf)
1991 - Shaquille O'Neal, LSU (basketball) and Daedra Charles, Tennessee (basketball)
1990 - Alec Kessler, Georgia (basketball) and Dee Foster, Alabama (gymnastics)
1989 - Derrick Thomas, Alabama (football) and Bridgette Gordon, Tennessee (basketball)
1988 - Will Perdue, Vanderbilt (basketball) and Dara Torres, Florida (swimming)
1987 - Cornelius Bennett, Alabama (football) and Lillie Leatherwood-King, Alabama (track and field)
1986 - Bo Jackson, Auburn (football) and Jennifer Gillom, Ole Miss (basketball)
1985 - Will Clark, Mississippi State (baseball) and Penney Hauschild, Alabama (gymnastics)
1984 - Terry Hoage, Georgia (football) and Tracy Caulkins, Florida (swimming)
1983 - Herschel Walker, Georgia (football/track and field)
1982 - Buck Belue, Georgia (football/baseball)
1981 - Rowdy Gaines, Auburn (swimming)
1980 - Kyle Macy, Kentucky (basketball)
1979 - Reggie King, Alabama (basketball)
1978 - Jack Givens, Kentucky (basketball)
1977 - Larry Seivers, Tennessee (football)
1976 - Harvey Glance, Auburn (track and field)

AllWildcats Top Stories