Kentucky, Harrison tabbed for SEC honors

Kentucky has been predicted to win the 2015 Southeastern Conference men's basketball championship in voting by SEC and national media members.

The Wildcats were the unanimous pick to claim the title, garnering all 20 first-place votes. It was the 10th time since the 1998-99 season that UK was selected the preseason conference favorite.

Kentucky sophomore guard Aaron Harrison was the preseason choice for SEC Player of the Year coming off a freshman season which saw him average 13.7 points in helping lead UK to a national runner-up finish. The Texas native's late 3-pointers to help beat Louisville, Michigan and Wisconsin during the Cats' NCAA run were some of the most memorable shots of the tourney and program history.

Aaron Harrison was one of five Wildcats that received votes, including twin brother Andrew Harrison, Willie Cauley-Stein, Alex Poythress and Karl-Anthony Towns.

Georgia’s Charles Mann, LSU’s Jarell Martin and Jordan Mickey along with Ole Miss’ Jarvis Summers also received votes in the Player of the Year voting.

Aaron Harrison, Mickey and Summers were each All-SEC First Team selections along with Arkansas’ Bobby Portis and Florida’s Michael Frazier II.

The 2014-15 campaign begins November 14, with conference play set to begin January 6. The 2015 SEC Tournament will be March 11-15 at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

First Team All-SEC
Bobby Portis – Arkansas, F, 6-11, 242, So., Little Rock, Ark.
Michael Frazier II – Florida, G, 6-4, 194, Jr., Tampa, Fla.
Aaron Harrison – Kentucky, G, 6-6, 212, So., Richmond, Texas
Jordan Mickey – LSU, F, 6-8, 235, So., Dallas, Texas
Jarvis Summers – Ole Miss, G, 6-3, 186, Sr., Jackson, Miss.

Second Team All-SEC
Charles Mann – Georgia, G, 6-5, 215, Jr., Alpharetta, Ga.
Willie Cauley-Stein – Kentucky, F, 7-0, 240, Jr., Olathe, Kan.
Andrew Harrison – Kentucky, G, 6-6, 210, So., Richmond, Texas
Alex Poythress – Kentucky, F, 6-8, 238, Jr., Clarksville, Tenn.
Karl-Anthony Towns – Kentucky, F, 6-11, 250, Fr., Piscataway, N.J.

SEC Player of the Year: Aaron Harrison, Kentucky

Preseason Media Poll Pts
1. Kentucky (20) 280
2. Florida 258
3. Arkansas 226
4. LSU 223
5. Georgia 204
6. Ole Miss 168
7. Missouri 123
8. Auburn 113
9. Texas A&M 111
10. Alabama 109
11. Vanderbilt 89
12. South Carolina 86
13. Tennessee 75
14. Mississippi State 35
First-Place Votes in Parentheses

AllWildcats Top Stories