Cauley-Stein a finalist for Robertson Trophy

Willie Cauley-Stein has been named a finalist for the 2015 Oscar Robertson Trophy honoring the U.S. Basketball Writers Association’s national player of the year.

The Kentucky center/forward is one of 15 finalists for the award, which will be presented on April 14 in Oklahoma City.

Sign up for AllWildcats!

Cauley-Stein is averaging 9.1 points and 6.4 rebounds this season for No. 1 Kentucky (28-0, 15-0 SEC) despite playing only 25 minutes per game in the Wildcats' deep rotation.

He leads UK with 39 steals and is second with 43 blocked shots. His defensive prowess has helped the Cats lead the nation in opponent field goal percentage (.343) and rank second in points allowed per game at 52.7.

Earlier this season, the 7-footer from Olathe, Kan., became the first player in program history to amass more than 200 blocks and 100 steals in a career.

The full list of finalists includes:
Ron Baker, Wichita State
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia
Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky
Rakeem Christmas, Syracuse
Jerian Grant, Notre Dame
Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
Bobby Portis, Arkansas
D'Angelo Russell, Ohio State
Seth Tuttle, Northern Iowa
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga
Delon Wright, Utah

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson.

AllWildcats Top Stories