Kentucky Wildcats' Tyler Ulis a consensus All-American

Kentucky's Tyler Ulis on Tuesday became a consensus first-team All-America selection after making the Associated Press squad alongside Oklahoma's Buddy Hield, Virginia's Malcolm Brogdon, North Carolina's Brice Johnson and Michigan State's Denzel Valentine.

Ulis, a sophomore point guard, was the only non-senior selected to the first team. He averaged 17.3 points and 7.0 assists in leading the Wildcats to a share of the SEC championship this season. The Chicago native had three 20-point, 10-assist games, the most in the SEC in 20 years.

The NCAA recognizes consensus All-Americans based on four "major" teams: the AP, The Sporting News, the USBWA and the NABC. Ulis was first-team by AP and The Sporting News, second-team by the USBWA and NABC. A standardized points system for making those teams determines the consensus status.

Kentucky now has 21 consensus first-team All-Americans in school history (including four multiple selections - Forest Sale, Ralph Beard, Alex Grozam, Cliff Hagan) and four under current head coach John Calipari. John Wall, Anthony Davis and Willie Cauley-Stein previously earned the distinction under Calipari.

Fellow Wildcat Jamal Murray, a freshman guard, was selected as a third-team AP All-American. UK was the only school with two players represented on AP's three All-America teams.

2015-16 ULIS HONORS:

  •         NCAA Consensus All-America First Team
  •         Associated Press All-America First Team
  •         Sporting News All-America First Team
  •        USBWA All-America Second Team
  •         NABC All-America Second Team
  •         Wooden Award All-America Team
  •         Sports Illustrated All-America First Team
  •        CBS Sports All-America First Team
  •        SEC Player of the Year (Coaches/AP)
  •        SEC Tournament MVP
  •        SEC Defensive Player of the Year (Coaches)
  •       All-SEC First Team (Coaches/AP)
  •       SEC All-Defensive Team (Coaches)
  •        USA Today All-America First Team
  •        CBS Sports SEC Player of the Year     
  •        USBWA District IV Player of the Year
  •       USBWA All-District IV Team
  •        NABC District 21 First Team
  •        Naismith Trophy finalist
  •        John R. Wooden Award finalist
  •         USBWA Oscar Robertson finalist
  •        Bob Cousy finalist

AllWildcats Top Stories