Kentucky's White, Hjelle, Beggs tabbed to All-SEC baseball teams

Kentucky's Evan White, Sean Hjelle and Dustin Beggs were honored with spots on the All-SEC baseball team, the league announced Monday.

White, a sophomore first baseman, was named second-team All-SEC. He leads the Wildcats with a .377 batting average, a .943 OPS, 39 RBI and 10 stolen bases. The Ohio native has also established a reputation as one of the nation's elite fielders, which earned him a spot on the All-SEC Defense Team.

Joining White on the All-SEC Defense Team was Beggs, a senior right-hander who has gone 9-2 with a 3.01 ERA this season.

Hjelle, who posted a 4-1 record with eight saves and a 3.74 ERA, earned a spot on the All-SEC Freshman Team.

The league honored Texas A&M's Boomer White as its Player of the Year, Florida's Logan Shore as Pitcher of the Year and Mississippi State's Jake Mangum as Freshman of the Year. John Cohen, the former head coach at UK, earned Coach of the Year honors for SEC regular season champion Mississippi State.

Kentucky (32-24 overall, 15-15 SEC) returns to action at 5:30 p.m. ET against Alabama (31-24, 15-15 SEC)  in the opening round of the SEC Tournament at Hoover, Ala.



Player of the Year: Boomer White, Texas A&M

Pitcher of the Year: Logan Shore, Florida

Freshman of the Year: Jake Mangum, Mississippi State

Coach of the Year: John Cohen, Mississippi State

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Derek Lance, Tennessee

First Team All-SEC:

C: Henri Lartigue, Ole Miss

1B: Nathaniel Lowe, Mississippi State

2B: Ryne Birk, Texas A&M

3B: Boomer White, Texas A&M

SS: Kramer Robertson, LSU

OF: Jake Mangum, Mississippi State

OF: J.B. Woodman, Ole Miss

OF: Gene Cone, South Carolina

*DH/UT: Jack Kruger, Mississippi State

*DH/UT: Bryce Jordan, LSU

SP: Logan Shore, Florida

SP: Dakota Hudson, Mississippi State

RP: Shaun Anderson, Florida

Second Team All-SEC Team:

C: Mike Rivera, Florida

*1B: Peter Alonso, Florida

*1B: Evan White, Kentucky

2B: Tate Blackman, Ole Miss

3B: Nick Senzel, Tennessee

SS: Dalton Guthrie, Florida

OF: Anfernee Grier, Auburn

OF: Bryan Reynolds, Vanderbilt

OF: Jeren Kendall, Vanderbilt

DH/UT: Brent Rooker, Mississippi State

SP: Kyle Wright, Vanderbilt

SP: Clarke Schmidt, South Carolina

RP: Mark Ecker, Texas A&M

Freshman All-SEC Team:

*C: Chris Cullen, South Carolina

*C: Michael Curry, Georgia

1B: LT Tolbert, South Carolina

2B: Deacon Liput, Florida

3B: Jonathan India, Florida

SS: Connor Kaiser, Vanderbilt

OF: Jake Mangum, Mississippi State

OF: Antoine Duplantis, LSU

OF: Chandler Taylor, Alabama

DH/UT: Ethan Paul, Vanderbilt

SP: Braden Webb, South Carolina

SP: Adam Hill, South Carolina

RP: Sean Hjelle, Kentucky

SEC All-Defensive Team:

C: Mike Rivera, Florida

1B: Evan White, Kentucky

*2B: Cole Freeman, LSU

*2B: Ryne Birk, Texas A&M

3B: Nick Senzel, Tennessee

SS: Dalton Guthrie, Florida

OF: Buddy Reed, Florida

OF: Anfernee Grier, Auburn

OF: J.B. Woodman, Ole Miss

*P: Jordan Sheffield, Vanderbilt

*P: Kyle Simonds, Texas A&M

*P: Dustin Beggs, Kentucky


* - Denotes a tie in voting. Ties are not broken.

AllWildcats Top Stories