Kentucky's John Calipari part of NABC committee on NCAA Tourney

John Calipari has been no stranger to critiquing the NCAA Tournament selection committee since becoming head coach at Kentucky.

This past season, Calipari took issue with the Wildcats receiving a No. 4 seed and being slotted against Big Ten champion Indiana in the second round of the NCAA Tournament's Midwest Region despite his team defeating Texas A&M earlier that day for the SEC Tournament title. The Aggies received a No. 3 seed in what many analysts believed to be a much weaker West Region. 

In previous years, the UK boss has taken issue with the committee's inconsistent criteria for seeding, whether it's the RPI, strength of schedule or Top 50 wins, to name a few.

Calipari will have an opportunity to offer more formal feedback this year after being named to a National Association of Basketball Coaches ad hoc committee on tournament selection, seeding and the bracket process.

The NABC committee will consist of head coaches representing all levels of Division I basketball, as well as former NCAA committee members and NABC staff. NABC Executive Director Jim Haney and former SEC Commissioner Mike Slive, who has served as chair of the NCAA Men’s Basketball Committee, are co-chairs.

The ad hoc committee will meet multiple times in the coming weeks. Any resulting feedback will be presented to the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee in advance of its summer meeting.

“I appreciate this opportunity to be on the ad hoc committee, whose mission is to give suggestions to the selection committee,” Calipari said in a statement released by UK. “We all understand it’s an inexact science and our suggestions won’t make it perfect, we just want it to be better and more transparent for the players so that they know what they’re playing for. I look forward to working with all the other coaches and administrators.”

This is the third ad hoc committee established by the NABC. The first worked with the NCAA and NBA to adjust the rules for student-athletes declaring for the NBA Draft and lengthened the timeline to return to school after the NBA combine. The second worked on student-athlete time demands in men’s basketball and presented its recommendations to the NCAA Council for consideration.

Earlier this spring, UK Athletics Director Mitch Barnhart was named to the NCAA Tournament committee.

The ad hoc committee members include coaches:

John Calipari, University of Kentucky (Southeastern Conference)

Bill Coen, Northeastern University (Colonial Athletic Association)

Mark Few, Gonzaga University (West Coast Conference)

Steve Fisher, San Diego State University (Mountain West Conference)

Mark Gottfried, North Carolina State University (Atlantic Coast Conference)

Bob Huggins, West Virginia University (Big 12 Conference)

Ron Hunter, Georgia State University (Sun Belt Conference)

James Jones, Yale University (Ivy League)

Jeff Jones, Old Dominion University (Conference USA)

Phil Martelli, Saint Joseph’s University (Atlantic 10 Conference)

John Thompson III, Georgetown University (Big East Conference)

Mark Turgeon, University of Maryland (Big Ten Conference)

Gary Waters, Cleveland State University (Horizon League)

Administrators (both former NCAA Men’s Basketball Committee Members):

Doug Elgin, Commissioner (Missouri Valley Conference)

Dan Guerrero, Director of Athletics-UCLA (PAC-12)


Dan Gavitt, Vice President for Men’s Basketball (NCAA)

Reggie Minton, Deputy Executive Director (NABC)

AllWildcats Top Stories