The 2004 Catspy Awards

UK Athletics held it's second annual Catspy Awards Monday night at Rupp Arena. An offshoot of ESPN's ESPY awards, the Catspys honor well deserving UK student-athletes with a magnificent formal procedure.

2004 CATSPY Awards Photos.

There were approximately 1500 people on hand for the second annual Catspy Awards in Rupp Arena last night. That was about double from last year, which was held in the Singletary Center for the Arts. The formal black-tie event was moved to Rupp Arena this year because of the growing popularity and the first class job Mitch Barnhart, his staff, and the University of Kentucky does in bringing this event to life.

Rupp Arena was transformed into an elaborate stage that featured two large video boards. One of the highlights of the evening was a video parody of the Bud Light commercial, Real Men of Genius, which featured Mitch Barnhart catching footballs at spring practice, being a caddy for the UK golf team, mowing the UK Baseball field, and "helping" out the UK Rifle team with their shots.

Awards presented at last night's second annual Catspys

Mr. Wildcat -- Derek Abney (football)
Miss Wildcat -- Elizabeth Ramsey (soccer)
Team of the Year -- men's soccer and women's tennis
Athlete of the Year -- Thomas Morgan (cross country); Sara Potts (basketball)
Rookie of the Year -- Riley O'Neill (soccer); Jenni Casper (volleyball)
Performance of the Year -- Jeff Chakouian (track/field); Meghan Cooper (softball)
Supporting Role -- Andrew Hopewell (football)
Scratch Award (non-scholarship) -- Ravi Moss (basketball)
Scholar Athlete of the Year -- Ben Brewster (track/field); Jen Wilkinson (soccer)
Academic Team of the Year -- women's soccer
Community Service Award -- Antoine Huffman (football)
Character Award -- Daniel Burnett (football)
Blue Heart Award (for comeback of the year) -- Eddie Clement (swimming)
Courage Award -- Philip Schardein (golf, 2002)
Coach of the Year -- Ian Collins (soccer); Mark Guilbeau (tennis)
Play of the Year -- Andy Gruenebaum (soccer); Kari Tetrum (diving)
Lifetime Achievement Award -- Dennis Emery (tennis)

AllWildcats Top Stories