Golf Team to NCAA Tourney

Brian Craig and his men's golf team hope to make its second straight NCAA Championship appearence by finishing in the top ten of the regional tournament slated for May 20-22 at West Lafayette, Ind.

The Cats are ranked as the sixth best squad out of the 27 teams that will head to the NCAA Regionals.

Kentucky is set to compete against some of the nation's best teams; No. 9 Oklahoma State, No. 10 Minnesota, No. 12 Texas, No. 13 Texas Christian and SEC foe Arkansas all should provide competition for the top ten spots.

UK is coming off a fifth-place showing at the 2004 Southeastern Conference Championships, its highest finish since 1986. The Cats fired a three-day 866 team total, which is its lowest three round score in SEC Championships history.

Still Coach Brian Craig feels his teams' best golf has yet to be played.

"We played reasonably well," Coach Brian Craig said in regards to the SEC Tournament. "I'm a little disappointed we didn't play better, but we had a respectable finish and showed a lot of courage on the last nine wholes today."

Earlier this month, Kentucky golfers John Holmes and Matt Kohn received All-SEC honors for their play this season.

"I'm excited for John," Craig said. "This recognition is a great reflection of his commitment and determination to be great in this game."

"This is a great step forward for Matt," Craig said. "He has proven that he can play at a very high level and more importantly I think his maturity and decision-making has brought him consistency that he didn't have last year."

"He has turned into a terrific player for us and I'm excited for him."

Their accolades completed a tremendous year for the SEC, as a total of nine SEC schools will compete in the NCAA Championships, including Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, Tennessee, LSU, UK and Arkansas.


When: May 20-22 Where: West Lafayette, Indiana What: NCAA Regional Championship

Teams in the NCAA Central Region Championships (ordered by seeding): Oklahoma State, Texas, TCU, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Kentucky, Arkansas, Kansas, Tulsa, Colorado, SMU, Texas Tech, Kansas State, Baylor, Texas A&M, Xavier, Illinois, Ohio State, Purdue, Kent State, Wichita State, Indiana, Lamar, Notre Dame, Princeton, Western Illinois, and Jackson State.

AllWildcats Top Stories