Calipari wins Jim Phelan Award

New Kentucky coach wins 2009 Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year award given by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). The NABC Jim Phelan award may be the most prestigious of the coach of the year awards, as it is awarded by the coach's peers.

New Kentucky men's basketball coach John Calipari received accolades from his peers when he was presented with the Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year award, after leading Memphis to a 33-4 record and an appearance the Sweet 16 this season. The 33-4 record marks the fourth consecutive season where Calipari has directed his squad to a 30-win season. Coach Calipari is the first coach in NCAA Division I history to have four consecutive seasons with 30 or more wins.

Other finalists for the 2009 award were Jim Calhoun (Connecticut), Jamie Dixon (Pittsburgh), Darrin Horn (South Carolina), Trent Johnson (LSU), Lorenzo Romar (Washington), Bill Self (Kansas), Brad Stevens (Butler), Bruce Weber (Illinois) and Roy Williams (North Carolina).

Three of the ten finalists will be coaching in the SEC in 2009-2010 season, barring additional coaching changes at LSU or South Carolina.

AllWildcats Top Stories