SEC Media Days: Rock Star Day

HOOVER, Ala. -- The defending national champion Florida Gators, coach Urban Meyer, Heisman trophy winner Tim Tebow, along with Alabama's Nick Saban, Ole Miss' Houston Nutt, and Georgia's Mark Richt highight day 2 of SEC Media Days. The Wynfrey Hotel lobby is filled with autograph seekers wearing the colors, slogans and logos of their favorite team-mostly Alabama, but others as well.

The scene at the Wynfrey Hotel lobby, where fans are waiting to see "rock star" coaches Nick Saban, Urban Meyer, Mark Richt and Houston Nutt--along with players like Florida's Tim Tebow.
Georgia's Mark Richt was up first this morning.
Alabama's Nick Saban was probably the strongest draw. Saban became the sixth consecutive SEC coach to deny voting for someone other than Tim Tebow as all-SEC quarterback. That leaves Houston Nutt, Gene Chizik, Les Miles, Steve Spurrier or Lane Kiffin as the only possibilities as the culprit. Tebow received 10 of 11 votes (Urban Meyer is excused, as you cannot vote for a player on your own team). Will we see a coach admit it?
Saban also explained the "Bluegrass Miracle" again. For the Kentucky media in the audience, it was a chance to relive the pain. Saban explained there was a 30 mph wind that caused the Kentucky player to misjudge the pass, which led to the tip, and eventual game-winning Hail Mary pass. Kentucky's overtime victory over # 1 LSU in Commonwealth Stadium a few years later helped ease the pain, didn't it?
KSR will have more photos and story lines from SEC Media Days. Stay tuned.

AllWildcats Top Stories