Bridgewater named finalist for Manning Award

On Tuesday, University of Louisville junior quarterback Teddy Bridgewater was selected as a finalist for the Manning Award.

A likely NFL Draft first round selection should he choose to begin his professional career after his junior season, Teddy Bridgewater has been chosen as a finalist for another annual award.

On Tuesday the Manning Award announced its list of 10 quaterbacks to make the cut. In addition to Bridgewater, Clemson's Tajh Boyd, Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel, Florida State's Jameis Winston and A.J. McCarron are among those chosen.

Bridgewater, a native of Miami, Fla., has guided the Cardinals to a 10-1 record heading into the regular-season finale next Thursday versus Cincinnati. With a 21-3 record over the past two seasons, the Cardinals have recorded 10 or wins in consecutive seasons for the first time in school history.

Starting all 11 games, Bridgewater has thrown for 3,268 yards and 25 touchdowns, while tossing only three interceptions. He has tossed touchdown passes in 22 of the last 24 games and is averaging a career-high 297.1 yards passing per game.

The former Northwestern High product has thrown for 9,115 yards and 66 touchdowns in his illustrious career, while completing 68.2 percent of his passes.

The winner of the Manning Award will be announced after the bowl season in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans. The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates' bowl performances into consideration in its balloting.

Bridgewater was also selected as a finalist for the Davey O'Brien, Maxwell and Walter Camp awards.

Cardinal Authority Top Stories