Russ Smith named Player of the Year finalist

University of Louisville senior Russ Smith has been named a finalist for the Oscar Robertson Award, which goes to the National Player of the Year. Cardinal Authority has the latest on Smith.

As he prepares for his second-to-last career home game, University of Louisville senior Russ Smith does so this afternoon with a nice honor.

Smith was named one of 15 finalists for the Oscar Robertson National Player of the Year Trophy, which is presented each year by the U.S. Basketball Writer's Association.

Smith is one of three finalists from the AAC, including Cincinnati's Sean Kilpatrick and Connecticut's Shabazz Napier. The other finalists: Kyle Anderson, UCLA; Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico; Cleanthony Early, Wichita State; Melvin Ejim, Iowa State; Tyler Ennis, Syracuse; C.J. Fair, Syracuse; Nick Johnson, Arizona; Doug McDermott, Creighton; Jabari Parker, Duke; Casey Prather, Florida; Julius Randle, Kentucky; and Andrew Wiggins, Kansas.

The 6-foot Smith was a preseason Associated Press All-American. He's averaging 17.5 points, 4.5 assists and 1.9 steals per game. He needs just 16 points tonight against Temple to move into ninth place in career scoring. He's just the fourth U of L player in history with at least 1,700 career points, 300 assists and 200 steals.

The award will be announced on April 4.

Cardinal Authority Top Stories