Schimmel Named to the Wooden Award Ballot

University of Louisville senior guard Shoni Schimmel among 15 players selected to the John R. Wooden Award.

The accolades highlighting the impressive career of University of Louisville's Shoni Schimmel continue to pour in.

On the same day that she was unanimously selected as First Team All-Conference, the Cardinals standout was placed on the prestigious John R. Wooden Award Women's Ballot.

U of L announced the news Thursday afternoon via the following media release:

Schimmel was one of 15 players named to the John R. Wooden Award Women's Ballot, which was announced today by The Los Angeles Athletic Club. Selected by the Wooden Award National Advisory Board, the ballot is made up of 15 student-athletes who are eligible for college basketball's most prestigious honor. All balloted players have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA. The men's ballot will be released Saturday.

Schimmel was named to the preseason list after being a key player in the Cardinals' success last season. She was named the Most Outstanding Player for the Oklahoma City Regional. She also earned WBCA All-Region honors and first team All-BIG EAST honors. This season Schimmel is leading the Cardinals in scoring with 16.9 points per game. She also leads the Cardinals in three-point field goal percentage, connecting on 37.8 percent. She recently became just the second player in school history to score 2,000 career points along with former standout Angel McCoughtry. She currently ranks second on Louisville's all-time scoring list with 2,036 points.

The Wooden Award All American Team, consisting of the nation's top five players, will be announced the week of the Sweet Sixteen round of the NCAA Tournament after voting by hundreds of media members from March 12 through 25. The Wooden Award is unique in that voters may take into account play through the first two rounds of the NCAA Tournament. The John R. Wooden Award Player of the Year will be announced as part of the 38th annual Wooden Award Gala presented by Wendy's weekend April 10-12, 2014 at The Los Angeles Athletic Club. The event will honor the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners, and will include the presentation of the Wooden Award All American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, this year given to Stanford Head Women's Basketball Coach Tara VanDerveer.

About the John R. Wooden Award

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97), Candace Parker ('07 and '08), Kevin Durant ('09) and Maya Moore of Connecticut ('09 and `11). Baylor's Brittney Griner won the 2013 John R. Wooden Award.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities' general scholarship fund in the names of the All American recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the Award's name. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club the weekend of the John R. Wooden Award Ceremony.

Follow the candidates and get the latest news throughout the season by logging on to

2013-14 Wooden Award Ballot

Rachel Banham, Minnesota
Diamond DeShields, North Carolina
Stefanie Dolson, UConn
Bria Hartley, UConn
Jordan Hooper, Nebraska
Tricia Liston, Duke
Jewell Loyd, Notre Dame
Maggie Lucas, Penn State
Kayla McBride, Notre Dame
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Chiney Ogwumike#, Standford
Shoni Schimmel, Louisville
Odyssey Sims#, Baylor
Breanna Stewart, UConn
Alyssa Thomas, Maryland

Cardinal Authority Top Stories