Harrell, Rozier earn All-ACC honors

University of Louisville junior Montrezl Harrell and sophomore Terry Rozier both received All-ACC honors on Sunday

University of Louisville forward Montrezl Harrell and guard Terry Rozier have been named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference second team in a vote by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA).

Duke freshman Jahlil Okafor, the ACC Player of the Year, and Notre Dame senior Jerian Grant lead the 2014-15 All-ACC Basketball Team as unanimous selections. They are joined on the first team by Syracuse forward Rakeem Christmas, Virginia guard Malcolm Brogdon and Boston College guard Olivier Hanlan.

Harrell is averaging 15.8 points (eighth in the ACC), 9.4 rebounds (second in the ACC, 28th in the nation) and is shooting 57.3 percent from the field (third in the ACC, 21st in the nation). He has produced a double-double in 12 games this season and on 24 occasions in his career, including his latest with 20 points, 12 rebounds, three assists, two steals and a blocked shot against Virginia on March 7. He has scored in double figures in 36 of his last 42 games, including 24 games with 15 points or more. He is among the ACC’s active top five in career scoring, rebounds and blocked shots.

Rozier leads the Cardinals and is fourth in the ACC in scoring (17.0 ppg) and is second in the ACC in steals (2.0 spg). He is third in the ACC in scoring for league games only (17.0 ppg). He has scored in double figures in 28 games this season, including totaling 22 or more points in six ACC games. Twice named ACC Player of the Week, he has averaged 21.3 points in the Cards’ 12 road or neutral site games, including 20 points in Louisville’s nine conference road games.

Complete ACC Teams

2014-15 ACSMA All-ACC Teams (First place votes in parenthesis)

First Team All-ACC

Jahlil Okafor, Fr., Duke (64)
Jerian Grant, Sr., Notre Dame (64)
Rakeem Christmas, Gr. Syracuse (51)
Malcolm Brogdon, Jr., Virginia (53)
Olivier Hanlan, Jr., Boston College (29)

Second Team All-ACC

Montrezl Harrell, Jr., Louisville (21)
Quinn Cook, Sr., Duke (23)
Terry Rozier, So., Louisville (2)
Trevor Lacey, Jr., NC State (2)
Justin Anderson, Jr., Virginia (5)

Third Team All-ACC

Marcus Paige, Jr., North Carolina (4)
Tyus Jones, Fr., Duke (2)
Pat Connaughton, Sr., Notre Dame
Anthony Gill, Jr., Virginia
Brice Johnson, Jr., North Carolina

Honorable Mention

Jamel Artis, So., Pittsburgh
Tonye Jekiri, Jr., Miami
London Perrantes, So., Virginia
Sheldon McClellan, Jr., Miami
Justise Winslow, Fr., Duke
Xavier Rathan-Mayes, Fr., Florida State
Michael Young, So., Pittsburgh
Angel Rodriguez, Jr., Miami
Codi Miller-McIntyre, Jr., Wake Forest
Kennedy Meeks, So.,North Carolina

Cardinal Authority Top Stories