Keith Kelsey, DeVonte Fields and Lamar Jackson all receive preseason recognition

Louisville's Keith Kelsey, DeVonte Fields and Lamar Jackson all received preseason recognition on Tuesday

The start of the 2016 college football season creeps a step closer this week as a number of national awards release their preseason watch lists.

It began on Tuesday and a trio from Louisville were selected to the preseason honors.

Keith Kelsey and DeVonte Fields, both seniors-to-be, were named to the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List.  The Bednarik Award has been given
to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995.

Rising sophomore quarterback Lamar Jackson was selected to the Maxwell Award Watch List, which is given to the nation's top player.

Kelsey led the Cardinals with 107 tackles last fall and was a first team All-ACC selection.

In his first season at Louisville, Fields led the nation in tackles for loss per game at 1.73 and topped the Cardinals with 11.0 sacks in 2015.

Jackson, who started seven games as a true freshman, established a new a school-record for quarterback rushing yards with 960 yards and 11 scores, while passing for 1,840 yards and 12 touchdowns.  He earned Music City Bowl Most Valuable Player after posting a game-record 226 yards rushing and passing for 250 yards.

Cardinal Authority Top Stories