A notebook of items from the announcement that Louisville's Lamar Jackson is the school's first Heisman Trophy winner

A notebook of items from the announcement that Louisville's Lamar Jackson is the school's first Heisman Trophy winner.

Youngest winner in history

Lamar Jackson not only became the first Heisman Trophy winner from the University of Louisville on Saturday night, but he also became the youngest winner in the 82-year history of the award.

Jackson is 19 years and 337 days old, which surpasses the previous youngest - Jameis Winston - by five days.

The only other player in history to win prior to their 20th birthday was Mark Ingram.

The voting for Lamar

In winning the trophy, Jackson received 2,144 points and picked up 526 first-place votes. Clemson's Deshaun Watson finished second with 1,524 points and 269 first-place votes.

Jackson appeared on 90.53 percent of the votes, while Watson appeared on 74.63 percent. By comparison, the 2015 winner, Derrick Henry, was named on 86.01% of ballots. Last year's runner up, Christian McCaffrey, was on 76.75% of ballots.

Jackson was absent on only 41 of the 882 ballots.

Jurich attends ceremony

U of L athletic director Tom Jurich was part of the ceremony in New York.

Jurich was thanked by Jackson during his speech and was sitting in the row along with Jackson's mother and U of L head coach Bobby Petrino. He talked about what Jackson accomplished and called him an "incredible young man."

"He’s represented our university and community so very well; he's been an unbelievable ambassador," Jurich said.

A few Jackson leftovers

  • He's the second ACC player in the last four years to win the trophy.
  • He's the eighth player from a current Atlantic Coast Conference school to win the trophy.
  • He's the fourth sophomore to win the award and the fifth player to win the Heisman in his second year in college.
  • He's the fourth player born in Florida (and second-consecutive Florida native) to win the Heisman, joining Steve Spurrier, Danny Wuerffel and Derrick Henry as the others from the Sunshine State.
  • He's the 32nd quarterback to win the Heisman and the 14th in the last 16 years.
  • He's the third player (and second in the last three years) to win the Heisman while wearing No. 8, joining Davey O'Brien and Marcus Mariota
  • He has the most rushing yards (1,538) by a Heisman-winning quarterback.
  • His 4,928 yards of total offense is second in Heisman history to Ty Detmer's 5,022.
  • His combined 51 touchdowns running and passing ties Tim Tebow for third-best in Heisman history.

<iframe src="//widgets.boxxspring.com/MzAsNDA2MTMwMzc" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe src="//widgets.boxxspring.com/MzAsNDA2MTI5ODE" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe src="//widgets.boxxspring.com/MzAsNDA2MTI5NjY" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Cardinal Authority Top Stories