Cardinal commits chosen for select teams

Three Cardinal basketball commitments, as well as a number of prospects, have been chosen to participate in the 2004 USA Basketball Men's Youth Development Festival.

In its seventh year, the 2004 USA Basketball Men's Youth Development Festival looks to continue to build on the success of the past six Festivals. This year's Festival will feature the nation's top high school players who will be entering their junior or senior year next fall. Players will be divided into four regional teams representing the four geographic regions of the United States (North, South, East and West). Each team will square off in three games of round-robin preliminary play before being seeded and competing in the Festival's semifinals and medal round.

The USA Basketball entry-level event also combines skills and drills sessions with off-court seminars on topics such as the meaning of representing your country, sportsmanship, gambling awareness and media training with the aforementioned five-game tournament format.

Selected to compete for the 2004 USA North Team are: Demond Carter (Reserve Christian H.S. / La Place, La.); Eric Devendorf (Central H.S. / Bay City, Mich.); Chris Douglas-Roberts (Cass Tech H.S. / Detroit, Mich.); Bobby Frasor (Brother Rice H.S. / Chicago, Ill.); Clarence Holloway (Harlan H.S. / Chicago, Ill.); Dominic James (Richmond H.S. / Richmond, Ind.); Joe Krabbenhoft (Roosevelt H.S. / Sioux Falls, S.D.); Josh McRoberts (Carmel H.S. / Carmel, Ind.); Brandon Rush (Mt. Zion Christian Academy, N.C. / Kansas City, Mo.); DeAndre Thomas (Westinghouse H.S. / Chicago, Ill.); Julian Wright (Homewood-Flossmoor H.S. / Flossmoor, Ill.) and Luke Zeller (Washington H.S. / Washington, Ind.).

Featured on the 2004 USA South Team are: A.J. Abrams (McNeil H.S. / Round Rock, Texas); Keith Brumbaugh (Deland H.S. / DeLand, Fla.); Hendrix; Michael Mercer (South Gwinnet H.S. / Snellville, Ga.); C.J. Miles (Skyline H.S. / Dallas, Texas); Mitchell, K.C. Rivers (Oak Hill Academy, Va. / Charlotte, N.C.); Tyler Smith (Giles County H.S. / Pulaski, Tenn.); Kevin Swinton (James B. Dudley H.S. / Greensboro, N.C.); Williams and Brandon Wright (Brentwood Academy / Brentwood, Tenn.).

The 2004 USA East Team includes: Andre Blatche (South Kent Prep, Conn. / Syracuse, N.Y.); Derrick Caracter (Scotch Plains H.S. / Scotch Plains, N.J.); Shane Clark (Cardinal Dougherty H.S. / Philadelphia, Pa.); Brandon Costner (Seton Hall Prep / East Orange, N.J.); Marcus Ginyard (Bishop O'Connell H.S. / Arlington, Va.); Gerald Henderson (Episcopal Academy / Merion Station, Pa.); Curtis Kelly (Rice H.S. / New York, N.Y.); Vernon Macklin (I.C. Norcom H.S. / Portsmouth, Va.); Tiki Mayben (Troy H.S. / Troy, N.Y.); Greg Paulus (Christian Brothers Academy / Syracuse, N.Y.); Eric Price (Blair Academy, N.J. / Washington, D.C.) and Brian Zoubek (Haddonfield Memorial H.S. / Haddonfield, N.J.).

The 2004 USA West Team will be represented by: Brayden Bell (Brighton H.S. / Salt Lake, Utah); Jon Brockman (Snohomish H.S. / Snohomish, Wash.); Mario Chalmers (Barlett H.S. / Anchorage, Alaska); Darren Collison (Etiwanda H.S. / Rialto, Calif.); Micah Downs (Bothell H.S. / Bothell, Wash.); Anthony Goods (Centennial H.S. / Corona, Calif.); Amir Johnson (Westchester H.S. / Los Angeles, Calif.); Marcus Johnson (Westchester H.S. / Paramount, Calif.); Andre McGee (Canyon Springs H.S. / Moreno Valley, Calif.); Brian Morris (Jefferson H.S. / Portland, Ore.) and Martell Webster (Seattle Prep / Seattle,

Cardinal Authority Top Stories