Cards to open season vs. Iowa in Maui

For the second straight season, the University of Louisville men's basketball team will open the season against Steve Alford and the Iowa Hawkeyes, this year in the Maui Invitational.

The University of Louisville will open its season against Iowa on Nov. 22 in the 21st Annual EA Sports Maui Invitiational Basketball Tournament at the Lahaina Civic Center on the Hawaiian island of Maui as noted in the tournament brackets released Thursday.

The ESPN2-televised game will tip off at 5 p.m. EST (noon Hawaiian time) in the second game of the eight-team, three-day event.

It is the second straight year the Cardinals will open their season against the Steve Alford-coached Hawkeyes. U of L fell 70-69 in overtime to Iowa in the John Wooden Tradition in Indianapolis, Ind. to open the 2003-04 season before reeling off 16 straight victories. Iowa posted a 16-13 record last season, reaching the National Invitation Tournament.

Other first-round matchups, all of which are televised by ESPN2, include host Chaminade against Texas (2:30 p.m. EST), BYU vs. North Carolina (9 p.m. EST), and Stanford against Tennessee (11:30 p.m. EST).

U of L will face either Chaminade or Texas in the second round of the event on Nov. 23, playing at 7 p.m. EST in an ESPN-televised game if the Cardinals win, or at 1:45 p.m. EST if U of L falls to Iowa. The final round will be played on Nov. 24 with the championship game tipping off at 9:30 p.m. EST on ESPN.

It will be U of L's third appearance in the tournament, also playing in the event in 1989 and 2001. U of L Coach Rick Pitino's 1993-94 University of Kentucky team won the Ninth Annual Maui Invitational, defeating Arizona 93-92 in the championship game.

U of L's complete 2004-05 men's basketball schedule will be released when completed in late August or early September.

21st EA Sports Maui Invitational Basketball Tournament

Nov. 22-24, 2004 Lahaina Civic Center, Maui, Hawaii

Monday, November 22
Game 1 Chaminade vs. Texas 9:30 a.m. HT/ 2:30 p.m. EST Game 2 Iowa vs. Louisville
Noon HT/ 5 p.m. EST Game 3 BYU vs. North Carolina
4 p.m. HT/ 9 p.m. EST Game 4 Stanford vs. Tennessee
6:30 p.m. HT/11:30 p.m. EST

Tuesday, November 23
Game 5 Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2 8:45 a.m. HT/ 1:45 p.m. EST Game 6 Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4
11 a.m. HT/ 4 p.m. EST Game 7 Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2
2 p.m. HT/ 7 p.m. EST Game 8 Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4
4:30 p.m. HT/ 9:30 p.m. EST

Wednesday, November 24
Game 9 Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6 5th/6th Place Game 9 a.m. HT/ 2 p.m. EST Game 10 Loser Game 7 vs. Loser Game 8
3rd/4th Place Game 11:30 a.m. HT/ 4:30 p.m. EST Game 11 Loser Game 5 vs. Loser Game 6
7th/8th Place Game 2 p.m. HT/ 7 p.m. EST Game 12 Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 8
Championship Game 4:30 p.m. HT/ 9:30 p.m. EST

Cardinal Authority Top Stories