Dumervil receives another All-American honor

Cardinal senior selected as FWAA 1st Team All-American

Senior defensive end Elvis Dumervil (Miami, Fla.) was named to the The Football Writers Association of America's 62nd All-America Team announced on Saturday afternoon during a televised program on ABC Sports from Disney's MGM studios.

The FWAA All-America Team, the second longest continuously published team in college football, has been a staple of the college football scene since 1944. And for the second straight season, the unveiling of the team has been televised and sponsored by Cingular.

Dumervil is the school's first team FWAA All-American and was also tabbed a first team Walter Camp All-American last week. He won the Bronko Nagurski Award as the nation's Top Defensive Player of Year by the FWAA and was a finalist for the Vince Lombardi Award for the nation's Top Lineman.

Leading the nation in sacks with 20, Dumervil was tabbed the BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year and was also named first team All-BIG EAST. The 6-0, 255-pounder is second on the team in tackles with 63 and leads the team with 23 tackles for loss.

Top-ranked Southern California and second-ranked Texas, which will meet in the Rose Bowl in the national title game on Jan. 4, 2006, each placed three players on the 25-man team. Big Ten co-champion Penn State and UCLA each had two players selected.

There are two repeat All-Americas on the squad, Outland Trophy winner Greg Eslinger of Minnesota, who repeated at center from a year ago, and USC's Reggie Bush, who made the team as a sophomore kick returner last season, is one of the All-America running backs in 2005.

Bush is joined on the 2005 team by USC teammates, wide receiver Dwayne Jarrett and offensive lineman Taitusi Lutui. Texas' three All-Americas are quarterback Vince Young, offensive lineman Jonathan Scott and defensive back Michael Huff.

Penn State placed two players on the FWAA defensive team * linebacker Paul Posuluszny and end Tamba Hali. UCLA's All-Americans are tight end Marcedes Lewis and kick returner Maurice Drew. Louisville defensive end Elvis Dumervil made the team as the Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner (FWAA Defensive Player of the Year).

The Pac-10 led all conferences with seven players, the Big Ten had five players and the ACC and Big 12 four each.


Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
QB Vince Young, Texas 6-5 233 Jr. Houston, Texas
RB Reggie Bush, USC 6-0 200 Jr. Spring Valley, Calif.
RB Jerome Harrison, Washington State 5-10 199 Sr. Kalamazoo, Mich.
WR Dwayne Jarrett, USC 6-5 210 So. New Brunswick, N.J.
WR Jeff Samardzija, Notre Dame 6-5 216 Jr. Valparaiso, Ind.
TE Marcedes Lewis, UCLA 6-6 256 Sr. Lakewood, Calif.
OL Taitusi Lutui, USC 6-6 365 Sr. Mesa, Ariz.
OL Marcus McNeill, Auburn 6-9 338 Sr. Decatur, Ga.
OL Jonathan Scott, Texas 6-7 315 Sr. Dallas, Texas
OL Zach Strief, Northwestern 6-7 335 Sr. Milford, Ohio
C Greg Eslinger, Minnesota 6-3 285 Sr. Bismarck, N.D.

Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
DL Brodrick Bunkley, Florida State 6-3 284 Sr. Tampa, Fla.
DL Elvis Dumervil, Louisville 6-0 256 Sr. Miami, Fla.
DL Tamba Hali, Penn State 6-3 267 Sr. Teaneck, N.J.
DL Haloti Ngata, Oregon 6-5 338 Jr. Salt Lake City, Utah
LB A.J. Hawk, Ohio State 6-1 240 Sr. Centerville, Ohio
LB Paul Posuluszny, Penn State 6-2 220 Jr. Aliquippa, Pa.
LB DeMeco Ryans, Alabama 6-2 232 Sr. Bessemer, Ala.
DB Michael Huff, Texas 6-1 205 Sr. Irving, Texas
DB Brandon Meriweather, Miami 6-0 188 Jr. Apopka, Fla.
DB Ko Simpson, South Carolina 6-1 201 So. Rock Hill, S.C.
DB Jimmy Williams, Virginia Tech 6-3 216 Sr. Hampton, Va.

Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
K Mason Crosby, Colorado 6-2 210 Jr. Georgetown, Texas
P Ryan Plackemeyer, Wake Forest 6-3 235 Sr. Bonsall, Calif.
KR Maurice Drew, UCLA 5-8 205 Jr. Antioch, Calif.

Cardinal Authority Top Stories