Mr. Football

Louisville Male High School and University of Louisville verbal commit Douglas Beaumont was honored as the state's top player on Saturday.

Louisville Male all-purpose athlete and University of Louisville verbal commit Douglas Beaumont collected his fourth statewide honor on Saturday, receiving the Bluegrass State's annual Mr. Football award.

Beaumont, who had previously received the Paul Hornung, Roy Kidd and the state's Gatorade Player of the Year awards, edged out Franklin County quarterback Kaelin Ammons, Louisville Trinity quarterback Nick Petrino, Christian County quarterback Keith Tandy and Lexington Henry Clay defensive back Chase Minnifield in the statewide balloting.

As a senior at Male, the four-star prospect, led the 11-1 Bulldogs with 1,169 rushing yards and 24 touchdowns, while also pulling in 39 receptions for 550 yards and 8 touchdowns.

Beaumont joins former Male High and U of L standouts Montrell Jones (2000) and Michael Bush (2002) as a Mr. Football award winner. Current Cardinal quarterback Brian Brohm (2003), as well as his older brother and U of L quarterbacks coach Jeff Brohm (1988) also earned Mr. Football honors for their play at Louisville Trinity.

Cardinal Authority Top Stories