White Grabs 2A Honors

LSU commitment Corey White grabbed Class 2A First-Team All-State honors as an offensive lineman at Capitol High. In state targets Odell Beckham and Jermauria Rasco were also honored with First-Team selections.

On Dec. 20 the Louisiana Sports Writer’s Association released the Class 2A All-State football team, seeing Corey White earn First-Team honors as a tackle at Capitol High in Baton Rouge.

The honor came 367 days after he pledged to LSU, making him one of the longest commitments to the 2011 class.

Across that time, White transformed his body from a 6-foot-3, 307-pounder to a 6-foot-4, 280-pounder, a new weight that has White in the best shape of his life. After Capitol ended their season at 7-6 with a second round playoff loss to Evangel, it was evident just how far White had come.

While he was the only LSU commitment selected to the First-Team, Class 2A’s best offered up a pair of senior prospects that the Tigers remain in the mix with.

Five-star defensive end Jermauria Rasco, who dealt White and Capitol a 38-8 loss on Nov. 19, grabbed not only First-Team honors, but also the award for the Outstanding Defensive Player in 2A. He exploded for 6.5 tackles and 1.5 sacks in a state championship win over John Curtis.

For Odell Beckham, it was an 8-4 season at Newman High that ended with a 56-32 loss at East Feliciana. A month later, Beckham was honored as a First-Team selection at wide receiver, one of only two selections at the position.

Beckham finished the season with over 1,000 yards receiving and 17 touchdowns. He also rushed for just short of 300 yards and six touchdowns. He led all Greenies with three interceptions.


First-Team Offense

WR Odell Beckham Newman 6-0 180 Sr.

WR Rod Davis Many 6-3 185 Sr.

TE Harley Scioneaux St. Charles 6-6 215 Sr.

OL Justin Toups John Curtis 5-10 230 Sr.

OL Dale Martin Riverside Academy 6-2 240 Sr.

OL Jacob Rhodes South Beauregard 6-3 175 Sr.

OL Michael Crosslin Calvary Baptist 6-0 215 Sr.

OL Corey White Capitol High Academy 6-5 305 Sr.

QB Darnell Rachal Riverside Academy 5-8 180 Sr.

RB Anthony Williams Jeanerette 6-1 200 Sr.

RB Torrey Pierce John Curtis 5-9 185 Sr.

RB Marcus Hall St. Charles 5-8 160 Jr.

PK Richard Brennan Newman 6-3 185 Sr.

ATH Kendell Beckwith East Feliciana 6-3 210 So.


First-Team Defense

DL Marcel Andry John Curtis 6-1 280 Jr.

DL Lajalein Smith St. Charles 6-0 215 Jr.

DL Jermauria Rasco Evangel Christian 6-3 227 Sr.

DL Tylor Harris Episcopal 6-3 235 Jr.

LB Cardell Silas John Curtis 5-10 220 Sr.

LB Shawn Burst Northlake Christian 6-1 220 Sr.

LB Malcolm Cooper Homer 5-10 198 Sr.

LB Josh Savage Lake Arthur 5-10 205 Sr.

DB Brady Hitt St. Charles 5-11 180 Sr.

DB Klint White Rosepine 5-11 190 Sr.

DB Dionte McDuffy Evangel Christian 5-10 190 Sr.

DB De'Vontay Hogan East Feliciana 6-2 180 Sr.

KR Ira Jewitt Calvary Baptist 5-7 150 Sr.

P Jared Keating St. Charles 5-10 175 Sr.


OUTSTANDING OFFENSIVE PLAYER: Darnell Rachal, Riverside Academy

OUTSTANDING DEFENSIVE PLAYER: Jermauria Rasco, Evangel Christian Academy

COACH OF THE YEAR: Cedric Anderson, East Feliciana


Honorable mention: Josh Hanberry, John Curtis; DeQuian Matthews, DeQuincy; Devon Breaux, Donaldsonville; Tre' Brown, Donaldsonville; Courtland Joshua, Donaldsonville; Tekemian Ceasar, East Feliciana; Joseph Robinson, East Feliciana; Mike Henry, Episcopal; Jared Rogers, Episcopal; David Dee Duron, Evangel; Dionte McDuffy, Evangel; Vece Braggs, Farmerville; D'Mardrei Richardson, Farmerville; Da'Vonte Scott, Ferriday; Trent Hargrave, Lake Arthur; Lamar Carraway, Lake Providence; B.J. Greene, Loreauville; Nick Julien, Loreauville; Jonathan Lewis, Many; Ryan Brenner, Newman; Chase Crowell, Newman; Tyler Clark, Northlake Christian; Derek Williams, Northlake Christian; Andrew Vicknair, Riverside Academy; C.J. Vedell, Port Barre; Gary Suydam, Rosepine; Grant Bardin, Sterlington; Jordan Johnson, South Beauregard; Cody Jones, Ville Platte; Alonzo Moore, Winnfield; Wes Fischer, Newman.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories