Johnson, Magee Lead 4A

Class 4A brought plenty of accolades for LSU commitments. Anthony Johnson and Terrance Magee took home the top honor on their side of the ball, while Lutcher High wide receiver Jarvis Landry was named First-Team All-State for the second year in a row.

Anthony Johnson eclipsed 70 career sacks this past year, making him the nation’s all-time leader in sacks across a four-year campaign. Johnson finished with 129 tackles and 79 sacks, 17.5 of which came during O.P. Walker’s run to the state semifinals, where they were stopped by fellow LSU commitment Terrance Magee and Franklinton High. It was just the third time the Broncos, who finished at 9-4, had reached the semifinals stage.

With the production came First-Team All-State honors, but it didn’t stop there. For the second year in a row, the Louisiana Sports Writers Association named Johnson as the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year.

Magee, who lined up at quarterback at Franklinton but will play running back at LSU, was selected as the Outstanding Offensive Player of the Year. The 5-foot-10, 205-pounder finished the year on the Superdome’s turf holding up the state championship trophy, totaling 4,004 yards and 54 touchdowns as Franklinton went perfect against Louisiana competition, winners of 14 straight following a season-opening loss to Abilene (Texas). It was a taste of redemption for Magee and Co., who won 14-straight in 2009 only to fall short in the title game.

Magee, who passed for 2,634 yards and rushed for 1,370 yards, was also named the Outstanding Player of the Game in the overtime, state title win over Karr.

A third future Tiger, Lutcher wide receiver Jarvis Landry, was also selected to the First-Team. Landry, a four-star prospect who is ranked as the No. 7 wideout in the country, finished the regular season 589 yards and 11 touchdowns on 42 catches. As a defensive back the 5-foot-11, 180-pounder totaled 76 tackles, 54 of which were solo.


First-team Offense

Pos.    Player        School            Ht.    Wt.    Cl.

WR    Damon Gladney    Haughton    6-0    180    Jr.

WR    Jarvis Landry    Lutcher        6-1    195    Sr.

WR    Jamal Robinson    Salmen        6-3    215    Sr.

OL    Derek Edinburgh    Karr    6-8    320    Jr.

OL    Xavier Jefferson    Franklinton    6-3    235    Sr.

OL    Kenneth Santa Maria    McDonogh 35    6-5    305   So.

OL    Luke Spinella    Vandebilt Catholic    6-2    290    Sr.

OL    William Cowen        Peabody    6-1    297    Jr.

QB    Dak Prescott    Haughton    6-3    220    Sr.

RB    Dillon Berlin    St. Louis    6-0    195    Sr.

RB    Jalen Richard    Peabody    5-10    190    Jr.

RB    Josh Robinson    Franklinton    5-9    185    Sr.

PK    Harrison Flynt    St. Louis    6-4    170    Jr.

ATH    Terrence Magee        Franklinton    5-10    205    Sr.


First-team Defense

DL    Anthony Johnson    O.P. Walker    6-3    285    Sr.

DL    Timothy Johnson    Karr    6-2    235    Sr.

DL    Demarcus Hodge    Neville    6-2    305    Sr.

DL    Tyler Porter        Northside    5-11    310    Sr.

LB    Matthew Bailey        Karr    5-11    215    Sr.

LB    Jake Miller    Teurlings Catholic    6-1    190    Sr.

LB    Ronnie Wheeler        Franklinton    6-2    225    Sr.

LB    Seth Ward    Vandebilt Catholic    6-0    190    Jr.

DB    Devon White    McDonogh 35    6-0    170    Sr.

DB    Cortez Johnson        O.P. Walker    6-2    180    Sr.

DB    Ellis Carey    Helen Cox    6-1    205    Sr.

DB    Will LeBlanc    Cecilia    6-4    185    Sr.

KR    Levander Liggins    Leesville    5-11    185    Sr.

P    Kris Albarado    St. Louis    5-11    195    Sr.




COACH OF THE YEAR: Jabbar Juluke, Karr


Honorable mention: Darren Anderson, Bastrop; Rodriguez Moore, Bastrop; Jevante Watson, Bastrop; Jatavious Wilson, Bastrop; Jacob Carmouche, Beau Chene; Travin Dural, Breaux Bridge; Montrel Carter, Cecilia; Will LeBlanc, Cecilia; Duane Fleming, Cox; Rodrick Johnson, Cox; DeShazor Everett, DeRidder; Jerry Buckley, East Jefferson; Greg Pittman, Ben Franklin; Noble Johnson, Franklin Parish; Chris Briggs, Franklinton; Shamond Holmes, Franklinton; Tyson Magee, Franklinton; Lawrence Robinson, Franklinton; Marlon Seets, Haughton; Justin Chesson, Sam Houston; Desman Ethridge, Huntington; Davondrick Phillips, Jennings; Khris Watkins, Jennings; Jarrell Bennett, Karr; Tollette George, Karr; Neal Randall, Karr; Leonard Washington, Karr; Demetrius Atwater, Leesville; Zack Squyres, Leesville; Jordan Batiste, Lutcher; Derek Matherne, Lutcher; Daniel Taylor, Lutcher; Charles Henderson, McDonogh No. 35; John Diarse, Neville; Omar Johnson, Neville; Lorenzo Lenoir, Neville; Jessie Wilhite, Neville; Reagan Wise, Neville; Ricky Wyatt, Neville; Dwayne Benjamin, Northside; Jordan Montgomery, Northside; Kolby Copeland, Parkway; Alex Crist, Parkway; Ja’Ren  Johnson, Ruston; Malcolm Pichon, Salmen; T.J. Price, Salmen; Zephaniah Rudolph, Salmen; Daniel Sams, Salmen; Andrew Gary, St. Louis Catholic; Collin Todd, St. Louis Catholic; Austin Frey, St. Michael; Dash Duncan, St. Michael; Brandon Landry, St. Michael; Adam Angelle, Teurlings Catholic; Christian Hurst, Teurlings Catholic D’Shaie Landor, Teurlings Catholic; Michael Blanchard, Vandebilt Catholic; Bryson Bonvillain, Vandebilt Catholic; Nick LeBlanc, Vandebilt Catholic Elijah McGuire, Vandebilt Catholic; Geroski Harmon, Washington-Marion; Juwan Span, Woodlawn-Baton Rouge; Kenneth Collins, Woodlawn-Baton Rouge; Jamaal Lofton, Woodlawn-Baton Rouge; Toshiro Davis, Woodlawn-Shreveport; Robert Kelley, O.P. Walker; Devon Francois, Karr; Noel Ellis, Karr.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories