LSU Gets Three of 5A's Best

While he doesn't project to play quarterback at LSU, West Monroe's Paul Turner went under center and led the Rebels all the way to the 5A state championship game. Two recent LSU commitments, Jonah Austin and Micah Eugene, also earned First-Team All-State honors.

While West Monroe had won 29 straight games leading up to the state championship, a 21-14 loss to Acadiana in the finals spoiled their third straight title game appearance.

No matter, two Rebels – Turner and defensive tackle Chuck Hunter - took home the top honors on each side of the ball in Class 5A.

While Turner sat out a pair of games, he finished with 916 yards and 17 touchdowns on the ground and 1,245 yards and 16 touchdowns through the air en route to Offensive Player of the Year honors.

Fellow LSU commitment Micah Eugene, who played both ways for Acadiana, rushed for 2,031 yards and 25 touchdowns, the chief workhorse for a Wrecking Rams ground game that was rarely slowed. St. Augustine offensive tackle Jonah Austin, who also committed to LSU two weekends ago, was also selected to the First-Team. The recent pledge helped pave the way for freshman running back Leonard Fournette to rush for 1,735 yards and 22 touchdowns on 174 attempts.

Defensive tackle Mickey Johnson, who finished with 34 tackles and three sacks, joins Hunter as a First-Team selection to the defensive line, as does 2012 West Monroe defensive end James McFarland. Dutchtown’s Landon Collins, who will be one of LSU’s top targets for 2012, wrapped up his junior campaign with 102 tackles and four interceptions.



WR      D’haquille Williams     ESJ   6-2     195     Sr.

WR      Mark Bridgewater        Hammond 6-2     190     Sr.

TE      Evan Tatford      STM       6-5     235    Sr.

OL      Chet Hebert     Archbishop Shaw 6-3     285     Sr.

OL      Greg Robinson   Thibodaux       6-5     300     Sr.

OL      Cade Dawes      Acadiana        5-11    235     Sr.

OL      Nick Smith      Acadiana        6-4     270     Sr.

OL      Jonah Austin    St. Augustine   6-7     315     Sr.

QB      Paul Turner     West Monroe     6-2     187     Sr.

RB      Dante’ Butler   Brother Martin  5-10    205     Sr.

RB      Effrem Reed     Dutchtown       5-9     185     Sr.

RB      Micah Eugene    Acadiana        5-11    190     Sr.

PK      Colby Delahoussaye    New Iberia    5-9     160     Jr.

ATH     Tyler Cain      West Monroe     5-8     175     Sr.



DL      Mickey Johnson  St. Paul’s      6-2     295     Sr.

DL      Chuck Hunter    West Monroe     6-0     302     Sr.

DL      James McFarland West Monroe     6-2     234     Jr.

DL      Duvall Jackson  Westgate        6-2     220     Jr.

LB      Deion Jones     Jesuit  6-1     195     Jr.

LB      Landon Collins  Dutchtown       6-1     210     Jr.

LB      Ben Taylor      Hahnville       5-11    195     Sr.

LB      Jonathan Tyson  West Monroe     6-1     247     Sr.

DB      Bobby Dunn      Jesuit  6-4     185     Sr.

DB      Sam Scofield    St. Thomas More 6-2     195     Sr.

DB      Bakari Hollier  Acadiana        5-10    190     Sr.

DB      James Richardson        Central 5-10    180     Sr.

KR      Ronald Lewis    West Jefferson  6-0     180     So.

P       Ralph Freibert  Jesuit  5-11    175     Jr.




COACH OF THE YEAR: Jim Hightower, St. Thomas More


Honorable mention: Keith Ollison, Acadiana; Jared Foster, Barbe; Trey Quinn, Barbe; Elbert Fulgham, Brother Martin; Jordan Greene, Brother Martin; Jacoby Briscoe, Carencro; Alex Johnson, Carencro; Zack Oliver, Catholic-Baton Rouge; Grant Venable, Catholic-Baton Rouge; James Banks, Chalmette;, Kaleb Blanchard, Denham Springs; Ethan Hutson, Destrehan; Leon Blouin, Dutchtown; Darion Moore, East St. John; Ahmad White, Hahnville; Trey Davis, Higgins; Jarion Walker, Higgins; Jamal Wilson, Higgins; Pat DeVun, Jesuit; Darius Edwards, LaGrange; Aaron Sam, LaGrange; Austin Watts, Central; Chris Dragna, Mandeville; Kendrick Aaron, Natchitoches Central; Chris Mitchell, Natchitoches Central; Jordy Joseph, New Iberia; Blake Lopez, New Iberia; Scottie Williams, New Iberia; Terron Bell, Ouachita; Justin Ginyard Ouachita; Chris Houston, Ouachita; T.J. Kijak, Ouachita; Ladarius Lewis, Ouachita; Ricky McCarthy, Ouachita; Elijah Sullivan, Ouachita; Quentin Wheeler, Ouachita; Jonathan Kinchen, Ponchatoula; Kaleb Muse, Ponchatoula; Lawrence Breaud, Archbishop Shaw; Jonathan Miles, Slidell; Justin Manton, St. Amant; Leonard Fournette Jr., St. Augustine; Terry Lucas, St. Augustine; Renaldo Thomas, St. Augustine; Matt Flores, St. Thomas More; David Laborde, St. Thomas More; Kevin LaBry, St. Thomas More; Brandon Schmidt, St. Thomas More; Paul Jacquillard, St. Paul’s; Tyler Tourelle, St. Paul’s; Kirby Bonvillain, Terrebonne; Mike Williams, Terrebonne; Shawn Hoye Jr., West Jefferson; Jose Mazier, West Jefferson; Kenneth Proctor, West Jefferson; Ash Aulds, West Monroe; Deano Casola, West Monroe; Jay Hoogland, West Monroe; Michael Hunter, West Monroe; Terrell Lathan, West Monroe; Bubba Reeves, West Monroe; Cade Stone, West Monroe; Cody Stone, West Monroe; Eugene Levingston, Westgate.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories