Tigers take Ole Miss series

LSU clinched its ninth-straight Southeastern Conference baseball series with a 13-5 win Sunday against Ole Miss at Alex Box Stadium.<br><br>The Tigers moved past Mississippi State into first place in the conference and will try to match a team record ten-straight SEC series wins when they travel to Vanderbilt next weekend.

LSU has not lost an SEC series dating back to last April and can tie a mark they set between 1985 and 1986 when they won ten straight league matchups. The Tigers have won the last 12 series in a row against Ole Miss played in Baton Rouge.

Game 1: Ole Miss 7, LSU 2

Ole Miss overcame a 2-0 LSU lead to win its series opener, 7-2, Friday night at Alex Box Stadium. Jon Swearigen provided the winning run for the Rebels with a three-run home run in the in the sixth inning.

LSU starting pitcher Justin Meier allowed just one hit before Ole Miss struck for four runs in the sixth inning and added another in the seventh. It was the first loss of the season for Meier (4-1) who gave up five runs on eight hits, both season highs, with seven strikeouts and one walk.

Ole Miss starter T.J. Beam (5-1) held LSU to two runs with just six hits over six-plus innings. Stephen Head moved over from first base and pitched three perfect innings for his SEC-best eighth save.

Game 2: LSU 14, Ole Miss 6

LSU trailed Ole Miss 6-5 heading into the bottom of the fifth inning when Jon Zeringue delivered a two-out, two run double into the left field corner. The Tigers went on to score seven more runs for a 14-6 win over the Rebels to even their Southeastern Conference series at Alex Box Stadium.

Zeringue added two more of those runs with a home run in the eighth inning, and Aaron Hill went 3-for-5 with two doubles to lead the Tigers at the plate.

The offensive outburst allowed LSU starting pitcher Bo Pettit (6-1) to survive a shaky start. After giving up a home run to Charlie Waite in the third inning that put Ole Miss ahead 6-5, Pettit sat the next 14 Rebels he faced.

Ole Miss took a 1-0 lead in its first at-bat, but LSU responded with three runs in the bottom of the first. Hill tied the score with a one-out double to left center field gap to score Bruce Sprowl, who drew a leadoff walk from Ole Miss starter Mark Holliman. Back-to-back RBI singles to from Blake Gill and Clay Harris put the Tigers ahead by two.

The Rebels continued the scoring in the second inning as an RBI single from Justin Donovan cut LSU's lead to one. Chad Sterbens put the Rebels back ahead with a two-run single with two outs.

Ivan Naccarata vaulted LSU back ahead 5-4 with a two-run single in the bottom of the second, but the Tigers fell behind again when Charlie hit a home run in the third inning. The Rebels would hold a 6-5 lead until Zeringue came through for the Tigers in the fifth inning.

Gill also had a home run right before Zeringue hit his team-leading eighth homer in the eighth inning.

Game 3: LSU 13, Ole Miss 5

Clay Harris had two home runs for the second time this season and drove in a career-high six runs in LSU's 13-5 series-clinching win Sunday over Ole Miss. It was the fourth rubber game win for the Tigers this season.

Harris put LSU ahead 3-0 in the bottom of the first with a three-run homer off the Intimidator billboard in right field. He scored a run with a single in the third inning and went deep again with two-run homer in the fifth, tying him for the team lead with Jon Zeringue.

The offense from Harris alone was enough LSU starting pitcher Nate Bumstead (5-1) to post this fourth straight win. He struck out a season high ten batters and stifled the Rebel bats for three hits over eight innings.

Brian Pettway scored the first run for Ole Miss in the top of the second with a leadoff home run, but LSU countered in the bottom of the inning with Bruce Sprowl's RBI single.

Matt Tolbert got Ole Miss to within 6-2 with a sacrifice fly to center, and the Rebels added three more runs in the ninth inning against LSU reliever Jordan Faircloth.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories