LSU baseball schedule unveiled

Looking to get back to the NCAA Tournament, the Tigers face three CWS teams and finish the regular season at two-time reigning champion South Carolina.

One year in unfamiliar territory has the LSU baseball program hungry for a new season that doesn’t arrive for six more months.


To get back to the NCAA Tournament after missing put last spring, though, the Tigers will have to navigate the tough-as-nails SEC schedule.


As usual.


LSU released the 2012 baseball schedule Monday, a slate featuring three-game weekend series with each of the league’s 2011 College World Series teams, two on the road.


The Tigers’ non-conference schedule includes two games apiece at home against Air Force, Michigan and Notre Dame, as well as Southern’s return to Alex Box Stadium for the first time since the 2009 regional. LSU also plays home-and-home against Tulane, and welcomes UL-Lafayette, Southeastern Louisiana, McNeese State and Nicholls State to Baton Rouge. The Tigers’ annual in-state road trip takes them to Lake Charles to face McNeese early in the schedule.


Perennial Southland Conference power Lamar visits the Box, and LSU will again tangle with Southern Miss at Zephyr Field in the Wally Pontiff Jr. Classic on April 11.


In league play, the Tigers will entertain Mississippi State to begin the SEC slate in mid-March and also play host to Arkansas, Alabama, Georgia and Vanderbilt. LSU’s league road series are at Auburn, at national runnerup Florida, at Kentucky, at Ole Miss and at two-time reigning national champion South Carolina to finish the regular season.


Oddly, four of the Tigers’ final five SEC series are against East Division foes.


LSU baseball 2012 schedule


17 Air Force, 7 p.m.

18 Alcorn State, 6 p.m.

19 Air Force, 1 p.m.

22 McNeese State 3 p.m.

24 Appalachian State, 7 p.m.

25 Appalachian State, 2 p.m.

26 Appalachian State, 1 p.m

28 Grambling State, 6:30 p.m.

29 at McNeese State, 6:30 p.m.


2 Dartmouth, 7 p.m.

3 Dartmouth, 2 p.m.

4 Dartmouth, 1 p.m.

6 at Tulane, 6:30 p.m.

9 Michigan, 7 p.m.

10 Michigan, 6 p.m.

11 Notre Dame, 6 p.m.

12 Notre Dame, 6:30 p.m.

14 Northwestern State, 6:30 p.m.

16 Mississippi State, 7 p.m.

17 Mississippi State, 6:30 p.m.

18 Mississippi State, 1 p.m.

21 Southern, 6:30 p.m.

23 at Auburn, 6 p.m.

24 at Auburn, 3 p.m.

25 at Auburn, 1 p.m.

28 UL-Lafayette, 6:30 p.m.

30 Arkansas, 7 p.m.

31 Arkansas, 6:30 p.m.


1 Arkansas, 1 p.m.

4 Alcorn State, 6:30 p.m.

6 at Florida, TBA

7 at Florida, TBA

8 at Florida, TBA

Wally Pontiff Jr. Classic

at Zephyr Field in Metairie

11 vs. Southern Miss, 7 p.m.

13 Alabama, 7 p.m.

14 Alabama, 6:30 p.m.

15 Alabama, 1 p.m.

18 Lamar, 6:30 p.m.

20 at Kentucky, TBA

21 at Kentucky, TBA

22 at Kentucky, TBA

25 Southeastern Louisiana, 6:30 p.m.

27 Georgia, 7 p.m.

28 Georgia, 6:30 p.m.

29 Georgia, 1 p.m.


1 Tulane, 6:30 p.m.

4 at Ole Miss, TBA

5 at Ole Miss, TBA

6 at Ole Miss, TBA

11 Vanderbilt, 7 p.m.

12 Vanderbilt, 6:30 p.m.

13 Vanderbilt, 1 p.m.

15 Nicholls State, 6:30 p.m.

17 at South Carolina, TBA

18 at South Carolina, TBA

19 at South Carolina, TBA

23-27 SEC Tournament/Hoover, Ala.


1-4 NCAA Regionals

8-11 NCAA Super Regionals

16-27 College World Series/Omaha, Neb.

Look ahead: Battles on the diamond

Tiger Blitz Top Stories