LSU men picked 9th in SEC race

Media voters select league finish without divisions for the first time since 1990-91. Kentucky is the heavy favorite after a Final Four season.

From LSU media relations

LSU was pegged to finish ninth in the 2012 SEC's men's basketball race in a media vote released Monday.

The Tigers received with 91 points from the panel of 23 media members based on a 12-1 voting basis. Kentucky was the runaway choice of the voters to win the league after going to the Final Four a year ago with 18 first-place votes and 282 points, 17 points ahead of Vanderbilt. The Commodores received four first-place votes and Florida, picked third, received one first-place vote.

For the first time since the 1990-91 season, the voters picked the league finish as one unit and not in Eastern and Western Divisions. The teams will play as one 12-team league in 2012 with the top four teams receiving byes through the first round of the SEC Tournament, which will be held March 8-11 at the New Orleans Arena.

Terrance Jones of Kentucky was chosen as the Player of the Year.

The 2011-12 SEC Media Preseason Poll tips off SEC Basketball Media Day, which will he held Thursday at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Ala.

Tigers coach Trent Johnson will attend along with All-SEC Freshman team member of a year ago, Ralston Turner, is the team's leading returning scorer at 12.3 points per game.

SEC Preseason Media Poll (First-place votes in parenthesis)
1. Kentucky (18) 282, 2. Vanderbilt (4) 265, 3. Florida (1) 235, 4. Alabama 219, 5. Mississippi State 191, 6. Arkansas 154, 7. Ole Miss 119, 8. Georgia 108, 9. LSU 91, 10. Auburn 80, 11. Tennessee 71, 12. South Carolina 57


JaMychal Green, Alabama (6-8, 228, Sr.)
Terrence Jones, Kentucky (6-9, 252, So.)
Dee Bost, Mississippi State (6-2, 176, Sr.)
John Jenkins, Vanderbilt (6-4, 220, Jr.)
Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt ( 6-7, 225, Sr.)

Second team
Anthony Davis, Kentucky (6-10, 220, Fr.)
Doron Lamb, Kentucky (6-4, 210, So.)
Darius Miller, Kentucky (6-8, 235, Sr.)
Kenny Boynton, Florida (6-2, 189, Jr.)
Erving Walker, Florida (5-8, 177, Sr.)
Festus Ezeli, Vanderbilt (6-11, 255, Sr.)

SEC Player of the Year – Terrence Jones, Kentucky

Tiger Blitz Top Stories