Honors keep rolling in for the Tigers

On Tuesday, the conference's coaches released their first and second team All-SEC selections.

The honors and awards keep rolling in for LSU.

One day after the Associated Press released its All-Southeastern Conference teams, which featured 10 Tigers, the conference’s coaches released their All-SEC selections on Tuesday afternoon - and 10 LSU players were named to the first or second team.

The mark ties the school record set by the 2007 team.

First-team LSU players were wide receiver Rueben Randle, offensive guard Will Blackwell, offensive tackle Alex Hurst, defensive end Sam Montgomery, cornerback Tyrann Mathieu and cornerback Morris Claiborne.

Second-team selections included linebacker Ryan Baker, running back Spencer Ware, kicker Drew Alleman and punter Brad Wing.

Since the university hired Les Miles in 2005, LSU has placed 26 players on the Coaches' All-SEC first team and 46 total players on the first or second team.


Quick hitters…

- Blackwell and Hurst were mainstays on an offensive line that led the SEC with only 14 sacks allowed.

- Randle’s 18.1 yards a reception ranked second among the conference’s top 10 receivers.

- Montgomery’s nine sacks led the team and was good for third-best in the SEC.

- Mathieu led LSU in tackles (70).

- Baker finished the season with 58 tackles.

- Claiborne’s six interceptions ranked second in the SEC.

- Alleman’s last missed field goal came on Sept. 24 against West Virginia.

- Ware is tied with freshman Kenny Hilliard for a team-high eight rushing touchdowns.

- 23 of Wing’s 50 punts were downed inside the 20-yard line.



(* - Ties )





TE - Orson Charles, Georgia

OL - Barrett Jones, Alabama

OL - Will Blackwell, LSU

OL - Cordy Glenn, Georgia

OL - Alex Hurst, LSU

C - William Vlachos, Alabama

WR - Jarius Wright, Arkansas

WR - Rueben Randle, LSU

QB - Tyler Wilson, Arkansas

RB - Trent Richardson, Alabama

RB - Michael Dyer, Auburn

AP - Joe Adams, Arkansas *

AP - Chris Rainey, Florida *



DL - Melvin Ingram, South Carolina

DL - Sam Montgomery, LSU

DL - Corey Lemonier, Auburn

DL - Jake Bequette, Arkansas

LB - Dont'a Hightower, Alabama

LB - Courtney Upshaw, Alabama

LB - Jarvis Jones, Georgia

DB - Mark Barron, Alabama

DB - Tyrann Mathieu, LSU

DB - Morris Claiborne, LSU

DB - Bacarri Rambo, Georgia



PK - Caleb Sturgis, Florida

P - Steven Clark, Auburn

RS - Joe Adams, Arkansas





TE - Philip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn

OL - Chance Warmack, Alabama

OL - Rokevious Watkins, South Carolina

OL - Brandon Mosley, Auburn

OL - Alvin Bailey, Arkansas *

OL - Larry Warford, Kentucky *

C - Ben Jones, Georgia

WR - Da' Rick Rogers, Tennessee

WR - Marquis Maze, Alabama

QB - Aaron Murray, Georgia

RB - Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt

RB - Spencer Ware, LSU *

RB - Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina *

AP - Onterio McCalebb, Auburn



DL - Tim Fugger, Vanderbilt

DL - Josh Chapman, Alabama

DL - Fletcher Cox, Mississippi State

DL - Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

DL - Malik Jackson, Tennessee

LB - Danny Trevathan, Kentucky

LB - Chris Marve, Vanderbilt

LB - Ryan Baker, LSU *

LB - Jerry Franklin, Arkansas

DB - Winston Guy, Kentucky

DB - Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt

DB - Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama

DB - Brandon Boykin, Georgia



PK - Drew Alleman, LSU

P - Brad Wing, LSU *

P - Dylan Breeding, Arkansas *

RS - Marquis Maze, Alabama

More awards for Miles, Chavis

FoxSportsNext.com 2011 All-America Team

Tiger Blitz Top Stories