More awards for Miles, Chavis

LSU defensive coordinator John Chavis was presented the Broyles Award on Tuesday, given annually to the nation's top assistant.

On Tuesday, LSU defensive coordinator John Chavis was named the 16th winner of the Broyles Award, given annually to the nation’s top college assistant.

The award, named in honor of former Arkansas coach Frank Broyles, was given to Chavis over Wisconsin offensive coordinator/quarterbacks coach Paul Chryst, Michigan defensive coordinator Greg Mattison, Arkansas offensive coordinator/quarterbacks coach Garrick McGee and Alabama assistant head coach/linebackers coach Sal Sunseri.

Auburn offensive coordinator Gus Malzahn won the award last season.

Head coaches from each FBS program are allowed to nominate one assistant from their staff, and a selection’s committee, made up in large part by former college head coaches, then reviews all nominations.

The Tigers became known as one of the most opportunistic units in the country, and finished second in the country in both scoring and total defense.

The 55-year old defensive coordinator is in his best season to date with the program, having helped steer the Tigers to a 13-0 season by coaching up a defense that held opponents to 10.5 points and 252.1 yards per game.

Chavis, who spent 14 seasons as the defensive coordinator at Tennessee, also helped the Volunteers run the SEC gauntlet and finish 13-0 in 1998. Tennessee went on to win the first BCS National Championship game.


More honors for Miles

LSU coach Les Miles has been named one of 25 finalists for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, which is given annually to the college football coach that best exhibits sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence, and for giving back to their teams, schools and communities, on and off field.

Liberty Mutual will announce the four winners the morning of the BCS Championship game, Jan. 9, 2012, in New Orleans. Each winner receives a $50,000 donation from Liberty Mutual to the charity or charities of his choice, as well as a $20,000 scholarship grant in their name to their school's alumni association.

The list includes 10 FBS coaches and five each from the FCS, Division II and Division III.

LSU is the only undefeated FBS team, and the Tigers won the SEC last weekend for the second time in Miles’ seven years with the program.

Miles is also a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award and he was the recipient of the American Football Coaches Association Region 2 Coach of the Year honor on Tuesday.

2011 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Finalists (listed alphabetically)

Football Bowl Subdivision:

Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
Brady Hoke, Michigan
Mark Hudspeth, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Mike London, Virginia
Les Miles, LSU
Bobby Petrino, Arkansas
Mark Richt, Georgia
Nick Saban, Alabama
Bill Snyder, Kansas State
Dabo Swinney, Clemson

Football Championship Subdivision:
Rob Ambrose, Towson University (Md.)
Rob Ash, Montana State University
Tom Gilmore, College of the Holy Cross (Mass.)
Jerry Moore, Appalachian State University
Chris Mussman, University of North Dakota

Division II:
Tim Beck, Pittsburg State University (Kan.)
Bill Maskill, Midwestern State University (Texas)
Peter Rossomando, University of New Haven (Conn.)
Scott Underwood, St. Cloud State University (Minn.)
John Wristen, Colorado State University-Pueblo

Division III:
Glenn Caruso, University of St. Thomas (Minn.)
Keith Emery, Western New England University
Steve Johnson, Bethel University (Minn.)
Lance Leipold, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Stan Zweifel, University of Dubuque (Iowa)

Tiger Blitz Top Stories