Martin named McDonald's All-American

Madison Prep star and LSU signee Jarell Martin will play in the 2013 McDonald's All-American Game in Chicago on April 3. TSD has more details on the honor bestowed on the big man from Baton Rouge.

LSU basketball signee Jarell Martin has been named a 2013 McDonald's All-American and will participate in the annual game April 3 in Chicago's United Center.

Martin, a 6-9, 220-pound consensus five-star prospect from Madison Preparatory Academy in Baton Rouge, is one of 24 players nationwide to receive the distinguished honor.

He becomes the first Baton Rouge native to make the game since Glen "Big Baby" Davis in 2004. Denham Springs' Tasmin Mitchell accomplished the feat as well in 2005. Martin is also the first native Louisianan to be named a McDonald's All-American since Greg Monroe of Harvey, La., in 2008.

In his senior season Martin is posting averages of 25.3 points, 14.3 rebounds, 5.0 assists and 4.0 blocks per game.

In January the player talked about what it would mean to make the cut for this prestigious game.

"It'd be pretty big to say that I'd be playing against some of the top guys in the nation, so I'm looking forward to it," Martin told TSD. "I'm real excited knowing it's been a long time since a guy out of Baton Rouge went to the McDonald's All-American Game, so I'm just praying to God that I get there."

Martin will suit up for the West team, coached by Mike Flaherty.

The future Tiger forward is the 15th prep player named to the game to go onto play his collegiate ball at LSU.

List of LSU players to make McDonald's All-American Game

2013 – F Jarell Martin (Baton Rouge, La.)
2011 – F/C Johnny O'Bryant (Cleveland, Miss.)
2005 – F Tasmin Mitchell (Denham Springs, La.)
2004 – F Glen Davis (Baton Rouge, La.)
2003 – F Brandon Bass (Baton Rouge, La.)
1998 – F Stromile Swift (Shreveport, La.)
1993 – G Randy Livingston (New Orleans, La.)
1993 – G Ronnie Henderson (Jackson, Miss.)
1993 – G Sylvester Ford (Memphis, Tenn.)
1992 – F/C Duane Spencer (New Orleans, La.)
1990 – G Jamie Brandon (Chicago, Ill.)
1989 – C Shaquille O'Neal (San Antonio, Tex.)
1988 – G Chris Jackson (Gulfport, Miss.)
1988 – C Stanley Roberts (Hopkins, S.C.)
1984 – F John Williams (Los Angeles, Cal.)

Tiger Blitz Top Stories