LSU wins SEC Championship in extra innings

It took 11 innings, but LSU has been crowned the SEC Champions after a thrilling 5-4 victory against Vanderbilt.

HOOVER, Ala. — Though both teams took indirect paths to reach this point, the SEC's top two teams will square off at 3:30 p.m. in the title game.

No. 1 Vanderbilt and No. 2 LSU will meet to decide who takes the tournament crown in a matchup most have craved throughout the season. The Tigers and Commodores separated themselves from the rest of the conference pack, and today one team will take bragging rights into the SEC Touranment.

Brent Bonvillain will get the starting nod for LSU. Most of his starts came early in the season and in midweek contests. He takes a 2.97 ERA into this one, and LSU will look to get at least four strong innings after him. With a lot of bullpen arms still available, LSU will look to piece this one together on the mound.

Vanderbilt will counter with sophomore LHP Philip Pfeifer. He's started 10 games this season, won three, and has a 3.76 ERA in 55 innings pitched.

You can find the starting lineups by following the link below, and stick with TSD for live, inning-by-inning coverage of today's SEC Tournament Championship Game.

LIVE Baseball: LSU vs. Vanderbilt

Tiger Blitz Top Stories