Nola named SEC Pitcher of the Year

Aaron Nola earns honor for second consecutive season, third time an LSU pitcher has received the award. Alex Bregman, Andrew Stevenson also earn SEC honors.

Aaron Nola was named Tuesday as the SEC Pitcher of the Year, the second consecutive season he's earned the award.

This is the third time in program history an LSU player has received that honor (Nola-2012, Louis Coleman-2009), which was first awarded in 2003. That's the highest total in the SEC.

Nola led the SEC among starting pitchers with a 1.49 ERA, and his 10 wins trailed only Kentucky's A.J. Reed (11). He also had the most strikeouts in the conference with 127, which was 33 more than the next highest total (Texas A&M's Daniel Mengden, 94).

Nola improved in just about every significant category from his award-winning season a year ago. He had a higher ERA, more strikeouts and a lower batting average against with .173 compared to .188 in 2013.

Nola enters the NCAA Tournament on a particularly hot streak. In his last three starts — all victories — he's surrendered just three earned runs in 23 1/3 innings, allowing a combined 14 hits with 25 strikeouts.

The Baton Rouge native's poised to be a top-five draft pick in June's MLB Draft. Scout's Kiley McDaniel ranked Nola as the No. 10 overall draft prospect and pegged him at No. 4 to the Chicago Cubs in the first edition of his mock draft.

Nola also landed on the SEC All-Defensive team, along with LSU center fielder Andrew Stevenson.

Alex Bregman, the SEC Freshman of the Year last season, earned a spot on the All-SEC second team.

The awards are voted on by the 14 league coaches, and they are not permitted to select players from their own team. For the full list of SEC honorees, head to the TSD Message Board.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories