LSU announces future games with Texas, Miami

LSU announced Thursday a home-and-home series against Texas for the 2019 and 2010 seasons. The Tigers also announced a game with Miami to open the 2018 season in Arlington

LSU announced Thursday future games against two of the nation's more prestigious college football programs.

The Tigers will hold a home-and-home series against Texas for the years 2019 and 2020, confirmed what was first reported by Scout's Chip Brown with HornsDigest. The Tigers also announced they'll face Miami to open the 2018 season in the Cowboys Classic.

“These are three very attractive games against two of the traditional powers in college football,” said LSU athletic director Joe Alleva in a press release. “These are the types of games that our fans want to see and they will be a huge benefit to our football program and our university.

LSU will play in the Cowboys Classic for the third time. The Tigers previously defeated Oregon to open the 2011 season and TCU in 2013. That game is played in AT&T Stadium, home to the Dallas Cowboys.

LSU and Miami have played 12 times, the last meeting in the 2005 Peach Bowl. The Tigers are 9-3 in that series.

“The Cowboys Classic is a great event and gives us an opportunity to showcase LSU football in the premier NFL venue in an area that is one of our biggest alumni bases outside Louisiana," Alleva said.

LSU will face Texas in Austin during the 2019 regular season. The Longhorns will return to Baton Rouge the following year.

Those two programs haven't played since the 2003 Cotton Bowl. It'll be their first regular season meeting since 1953, a 20-7 LSU win in Tiger Stadium. The Tigers are 7-9-1 all-time against the Longhorns.

“This is going to be a great two-game series for both programs,” Alleva said. “The national attention and the excitement that will come with a game of this magnitude that early in the season will be unmatched. We look forward to renewing a long-standing rivalry with Texas.”

The SEC now requires its member programs to play at least one opponent each season from one of the other Power 5 conferences. The Tigers will start a home-and-home series with Syracuse in 2015 and play in Lambeau Field against Wisconsin in 2016, the second leg of a two-game series.

The Tigers also have future home-and-home series set with UCLA (2021, 2024), Arizona State (2022, 2023) and Oklahoma (2027, 2028).

Tiger Blitz Top Stories