Jared Foster named SEC All-Tournament team

LSU second baseman Jared Foster was selected as LSU's lone representative to the SEC All-Tournament team.

LSU second baseman Jared Foster made the SEC All-Tournament team, as voted on by media in attendance.

Foster was the only LSU player selected to the All-Tournament team. It's the first time since 2012 that the Tigers didn't have multiple players make the team. LSU had a whopping eight on the All-Tournament team when they won the title in 2014.

LSU had its tournament run end Saturday in a 2-1 loss to Florida. The Gators got a run in each of the final two innings, including a go-ahead home run in the ninth to advance. Florida went on to win the tournament with a 7-3 victory Sunday against Vanderbilt.

Foster batted 6-for-12 (.500) in the three tournament games last week. He drove in three runs and scored four more. Foster had four extra-base hits, including a solo home run against Auburn and a pair of doubles against Arkansas. Foster also played errorless defense at second base.

Foster previously made the SEC All-Tournament team in 2013.

Foster's been hot at the plate since returning to the team against South Carolina. Foster had been mistakenly ruled academically ineligible by the Univeristy before the penultimate weekend of the regular season. The discovery of a little known bylaw saved his career though, and Foster has returned to his starting position each of the last six games.

He's hit 10-for-24 (.417) in those games with 4 RBI.

Foster's the only player in LSU's starting lineup not hitting better than .300. His average is rising though, up to .293, and still has the third highest slugging percentage on the team.

Below is the complete SEC All-Tournament team:

SP: A.J. Puk, Florida

SP: Matt Kent, Texas A&M

RP: Taylor Lewis, Florida

C/DH: J.J. Schwarz, Florida

1B*: Zander Wiel, Vanderbilt

1B*: Peter Alonso, Florida

2B: Jared Foster, LSU

3B: Will Toffey, Vanderbilt

SS: Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt

OF: Jeren Kendall, Vanderbilt

OF: Bryan Reynolds, Vanderbilt

OF: Trey Harris, Missouri

OF: Buddy Reed, Florida

MVP: JJ Schwarz, Florida

Tiger Blitz Top Stories