LSU on Maxwell, Bednarik Award watch lists

Leonard Fournette makes another watch list. Kendell Beckwith, Jalen Mills considered for best defensive player award

Another day and two more preseason watch lists.

Leonard Fournette made the watch list for the Maxwell Award for college football's player of the year. Kendell Beckwith and Jalen Mills were selected to the Chuck Bednarik Award watch list for the nation's best defensive player.

This is the second straight day Fournette has landed on a watch list. He appeared Monday on the Paul Hornung Award watch list for college football's most versatile player. No LSU player has ever won the Maxwell Award since it was first handed out in 1937. That honor has gone to a quarterback in 11 of the last 12 years.

The last running back to win it was Penn State's Larry Johnson in 2002.

Fournette, the 2014 All-SEC Freshman team member, hopes to build on his successful first year with the Tigers and buck the quarterback trend for major awards like the Maxwell and Heisman. Fournette set the LSU freshman rushing record in 2014 with 1,034 yards and 10 touchdowns.

LSU has a successful history when it comes to the Bednarik Award. The Tigers are one of only three schools with multiple Bednarik winners since the trophy was first handed out in 1995. Patrick Peterson and Tyrann Mathieu won it back-to-back in 2010 and 2011.

Beckwith, the former No. 1 recruit in Louisiana, will return as LSU's starting middle linebacker after taking over that position midway through last season. He played a pivotal role in the defense's turnaround in the back half of the year. He has 88 career tackles, 8.5 for loss and 3.0 sacks.

Mills, a Freshman All-American in 2012, comes back for his senior year as the most experienced player on LSU's defense. He has started every game of his LSU career and is a versatile member of the Tigers' secondary with experience at safety, corner and nickel.

Here's a rundown of the preseason watch lists that include LSU players thus far:

Hornung Award (Most Versatile Player) - Leonard Fournette

Maxwell Award (Player of the Year) - Leonard Fournette

Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year) - Kendell Beckwith, Jalen Mills

Tiger Blitz Top Stories