LSU trio on Nagurski, Outland watch lists

Vadal Alexander made the Outland Trophy watch list. Kendell Beckwith, Jalen Mills make their second preseason watch list

LSU's Vadal Alexander made the preseason watch list for the Outland Trophy awarded to the nation's best interior lineman. Kendell Beckwith and Jalen Mills landed on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list, an honor given to the best defensive player.

LSU has won each award once in its history. Glenn Dorsey took home both honors in the Tigers' 2007 national championship season.

Alexander joins 80 other linemen on the Outland watch list.

Alexander is the second LSU offensive lineman to land on a preseason watch list. Ethan Pocic is under consideration for the Rimington Award, given to the nation's best center. It's possible though that neither Tiger is eligible for their respective award.

Alexander exited the spring as LSU's starting right tackle after spending the last two years at guard. He returned for his senior with the idea he'd have a chance to play tackle in his final season. LSU did experiment with him at left guard during the spring, and there are several combinations LSU can use on its offensive line.

The Nagurski is the second watch list to include Beckwith and Mills. They are also up for the Chuck Bednarik, another award bestowed on the defensive player of the year. They are two of 88 players to make the Nagurski watch list.

Beckwith, the former No. 1 recruit in Louisiana, will return as LSU's starting middle linebacker after taking over that position midway through last season. He played a pivotal role in the defense's turnaround in the back half of the year. He has 88 career tackles, 8.5 for loss and 3.0 sacks.

Mills, a Freshman All-American in 2012, comes back for his senior year as the most experienced player on LSU's defense. He has started every game of his LSU career and is a versatile member of the Tigers' secondary with experience at safety, corner and nickel.

LSU has had six players appear on preseason watch lists for seven different awards. Here's the rundown thus far:

Hornung Award (Most Versatile Player) - Leonard Fournette

Maxwell Award (Player of the Year) - Leonard Fournette

Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year) - Kendell Beckwith, Jalen Mills

Rimington Award (Best Center) - Ethan Pocic

Guy Award (Best Punter) - Jamie Keehn

Outland Trophy (Best Interior Lineman) - Vadal Alexander

Nagurski Trophy (Best Defensive Player) - Kendell Beckwith, Jalen Mills

Tiger Blitz Top Stories