Beckwith on Butkus list, two OL on Lombardi

Kendell Beckwith on his third preseason watch list. Two LSU offensive linemen on Lombardi watch list.

Kendell Beckwith landed on the preseason watch list for the Dick Butkus Award given to the nation's top linebacker. LSU also had two linemen appear on the Lombardi Award watch list.

This is the third watch list to feature Beckwith thus far. He previously appeared on the Bednarik Award and Nagurski Trophy watch lists, both given to the defensive player of the year.

Beckwith, the former No. 1 recruit in Louisiana, will return as LSU's starting middle linebacker after taking over that position midway through last season. He played a pivotal role in the defense's turnaround in the back half of the year. He has 88 career tackles, 8.5 for loss and 3.0 sacks.

LSU has never had a Butkus winner, an award that dates back to 1985.

The Butkus committee also released a watch list for its high school award, and that featured several LSU targets. Commit Erick Fowler, a top performer at The Opening last week, made the list, as did in-state prospects Michael Divinity and Devin White. Other notable LSU recruits include Ben Davis, Dontavious Jackson, Keion Joyner, Jeffrey McCulloch and Lyndell Wilson.

The watch list for the Lombardi Award, given to nation's top lineman, included both Vadal Alexander and Toby Weathersby.

This is the second preseason watch list to include Alexander. He also appeared on the Outland Trophy watch list, which is given to the top interior lineman.

Alexander turned down the NFL to return for his senior year. He's the most experienced member of LSU's offensive line and exited spring as the starting right tackle, though it's still possible he returns to left guard, where he's started the last two seasons.

Weathersby's inclusion may come as a surprise considering he's a true freshman unlikely to crack the starting lineup in 2015. But there is a reason he's on the list. The Rotary Lombardi Award Committee, which is based in Weathersby's hometown of Houston, selected the former four-star tackle as the winner of its inaugural Greater Houston High School Award last year.

The Lombardi watch list includes 145 members. Glenn Dorsey is the lone LSU player to ever win that award, which he did in 2007.

There have now been nine watch lists to include LSU players. Here are all of them thus far:

Hornung Award (Most Versatile Player) - Leonard Fournette

Maxwell Award (Player of the Year) - Leonard Fournette

Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year) - Kendell Beckwith, Jalen Mills

Rimington Award (Best Center) - Ethan Pocic

Guy Award (Best Punter) - Jamie Keehn

Outland Trophy (Best Interior Lineman) - Vadal Alexander

Nagurski Trophy (Best Defensive Player) - Kendell Beckwith, Jalen Mills

Butkus Award (Best Linebacker) - Kendell Beckwith

Lombardi Award (Best Lineman) - Vadal Alexander, Toby Weathersby

Tiger Blitz Top Stories