Travin Dural on Biletnikoff Award watch list

LSU's Travin Dural on watch list for award given to nation's top wide receiver.

LSU's Travin Dural appeared on the watch list released Wednesday for the Fred Biletnikoff Award given to the nation's best wide receiver.

Dural enters the 2015 season as the Tigers' No. 1 pass catcher and previously appeared on the Biletnikoff watch list entering 2014. He has 44 receptions for 903 yards and nine TDs in his career.

Dural started all 13 games last season. He led the Tigers in receptions (37), receiving yards (758) and receiving touchdowns (7). He had three 100-yard receiving games in 2014 and had at least one reception in all but the bowl loss to Notre Dame. He had an 80-yard touchdown catch in the first game of the season, and followed that with a 94-yard grab the next week, the longest pass in program history.

Of Dural's 44 career receptions, 36 have gone for either a touchdown or first down.

Dural redshirted in 2012 after a season-ending injury in preseason practice. He had seven catches, two for touchdowns, in 2013.

Dural is one of 48 players on the Biletnikoff watch list. Josh Reed in 2001 is the only LSU player to ever win that award.

LSU punter Jamie Keehn appeared on separate watch list announced Wednesday. He's up for the Wuerffel Trophy, which is given to the player who "best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement." Keehn is also on the Ray Guy watch list for the nation's top punter.

Former LSU center Rudy Niswanger took home the inaugural Wuerffel Trophy in 2005.

There have now been 11 preseason watch lists to include LSU players. Here's the list thus far:

Hornung Award (Most Versatile Player) - Leonard Fournette

Maxwell Award (Player of the Year) - Leonard Fournette

Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year) - Kendell Beckwith, Jalen Mills

Rimington Award (Best Center) - Ethan Pocic

Guy Award (Best Punter) - Jamie Keehn

Outland Trophy (Best Interior Lineman) - Vadal Alexander

Nagurski Trophy (Best Defensive Player) - Kendell Beckwith, Jalen Mills

Butkus Award (Best Linebacker) - Kendell Beckwith

Lombardi Award (Best Lineman) - Vadal Alexander, Toby Weathersby

Biletnikoff Award (Best Wide Receiver) - Travin Dural

Wuerffel Trophy (Community Service, Academics) - Jamie Keehn

Tiger Blitz Top Stories