Leonard Fournette on Doak Walker watch list

The LSU sophomore makes his third preseason watch list.

LSU's Leonard Fournette landed on his third preseason watch list Thursday, included among candidates for the Doak Walker Award given to the nation's best running back.

Fournette previously appeared on watch lists for the Hornung Award (most versatile player) and Maxwell Award (player of the year). LSU has never produced a recipient of the Doak Walker Award, which has been handed out since 1990.

Fournette is a preseason All-American entering 2015. He broke LSU's single season freshman rushing record, racking up 1,034 yards and 10 touchdowns. He led the conference with 137.4 all-purpose yards per game while handling kickoff return duties.

He made the SEC All-Freshman team in 2014 as a running back.

Fournette was one of three LSU players selected to attend SEC Media Days. Those three and Les Miles will make their media rounds Thursday morning.

The SEC produced nine running backs on the Doak Walker watch list. The conference has produced only four winners of the award in its 25-year history.

LSU has now had eight different players included on preseason watch lists for 12 awards. Here's the full list:

Hornung Award (Most Versatile Player) - Leonard Fournette

Maxwell Award (Player of the Year) - Leonard Fournette

Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year) - Kendell Beckwith, Jalen Mills

Rimington Award (Best Center) - Ethan Pocic

Guy Award (Best Punter) - Jamie Keehn

Outland Trophy (Best Interior Lineman) - Vadal Alexander

Nagurski Trophy (Best Defensive Player) - Kendell Beckwith, Jalen Mills

Butkus Award (Best Linebacker) - Kendell Beckwith

Lombardi Award (Best Lineman) - Vadal Alexander, Toby Weathersby

Biletnikoff Award (Best Wide Receiver) - Travin Dural

Wuerffel Trophy (Community Service, Academics) - Jamie Keehn

Doak Walker Award (Best Running Back) - Leonard Fournette

Tiger Blitz Top Stories