John David Mercer/USA Today

LSU football 2017: SEC schedule released

Christian details LSU's schedule next season as the Southeastern Conference released the conference's 2017 schedule on Tuesday night on the SECNetwork.

Five of LSU’s first seven games will be held in Baton Rouge during the 2017 season.

The Southeastern Conference released the SEC schedules for all teams next season on the SEC Network Tuesday night.

As is usual with the SEC’s schedule, LSU will feature four conference home games and four away during the middle of its season, beginning with the season opener against BYU on Sept. 2 at Houston’s NRG Stadium.

“Houston is a great city with a huge LSU alumni base and NRG Stadium continues to be one of the great venues for football,” LSU athletic director Joe Alleva said in early January of 2015. “We look forward to opening the 2017 season against BYU in Houston in what should be another great start to the football season.”

LSU’s nonconference schedule, which was released in 2015, features the 2017 season opener against the Cougars followed by Chattanooga — which LSU will pay the Mocs a guaranteed $500,000, according to — in Tiger Stadium the week before LSU opens SEC play on Sept. 16 at Mississippi State.

LSU will play at home against Syracuse on Sept. 23 and Troy a week later on Sept. 30.

The Tigers will travel to Starkville on Sept. 16, Oxford on Oct. 21 and Knoxville on Nov. 18 against Mississippi State, Ole Miss and Tennessee, respectively.

LSU and Alabama will take its respective bye weeks off the week prior to the Nov. 4th duel.

Arkansas, Auburn, Florida and Texas A&M, the last regular season game, will come to Baton Rouge between October and November.

  • A note: LSU coach Les Miles remains 40-19 against the SEC West and 21-8 versus the East.

LSU’s 2017 schedule


2: BYU (Houston)

9: Chattanooga

16: @ Mississippi State

23: Syracuse

30: Troy


7: Florida

14: Auburn

21: @ Ole Miss



4: @ Alabama

11: Arkansas

18: @ Tennessee

25: Texas A&M

Tiger Blitz Top Stories