Five Tigers picked for Rotary game

ORLANDO, Fla. -- Five members of this year's LSU football team have been issued invitations to participate in the Rotary Gridiron Classic presented by Tyco.

The all-star game features college seniors from around the United States against Team Florida, composed of athletes who either played college football in Florida or have other ties to the Sunshine State. The game will be played on Saturday, January 26th at 1 p.m. (CST) at the Orlando Citrus Bowl. Pacific West Radio Sports will also carry the game nationally on its network.

LSU players receiving invitations to play for Team USA include Robert Royal (TE), Dwayne Pierce (OG), Jarvis Green (DE), and Ryan Clark (FS). Quarterback Rohan Davey received an invitation to participate for Team Florida.

Classic alumni have included NFL Pro Bowl quarterback Daunte Culpepper of the Minnesota Vikings and 2000 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Mike Anderson of the Denver Broncos. Other participants have included rising NFL stars Ron Dixon (New York Giants), Darren Howard (New Orleans), Brad Meester (Jacksonville) and Erron Kinney (Tenessee).

Former NFL Head Coaches lead the Rotary Gridiron Classic teams, providing valuable insight and instruction to the players as they begin their professional careers. Their guidance plays a key part in the week of activities and practices, helping the players with the transition to the NFL. Past Rotary Gridiron Classic head coaches have included Lindy Infante (Green Bay/Indianapolis), Wayne Fontes (Detroit), Chuck Noll (Pittsburgh) and Buddy Ryan (Philadelphia/Arizona).

Tiger Blitz Top Stories