LSU has notable bowl history

As one of the most storied football programs in NCAA history, the LSU Tigers rank among the all-time leaders in regards to bowl games. <br><br> Despite having a losing record in postseason bowl contests (16-17-1), the Tigers rank in the top 10 in bowl appearances and is 13th all-time with bowl victories.

When LSU makes its 35th bowl appearance on Jan. 4 in the 70th Nokia Sugar Bowl, the Tigers will face the team with the highest bowl winning percentage. Oklahoma, which has came out victorious in 23 of 36 bowl games, is 23-13 all-time in postseason bowl action. One of those wins was a 35-0 win over LSU in 1950 in the Sugar Bowl.


Speaking of the Sugar Bowl, the Tigers have appeared in the New Orleans area classic more than any other bowl game. LSU has taken part in 11 of 70 Sugar Bowls, with its last appearance being a 47-34 victory over Illinois in 2001.


The 2001 victory broke a 34-year winless drought in the Sugar Bowl, having last won in New Orleans with a 20-13 victory over Wyoming. LSU visited the Sugar twice in the 1980s, losing in 1985 and '87 to Nebraska.


The greatest of all LSU bowl wins came in the Sugar, when Billy Cannon and Co. beat Clemson 7-0 capturing the 1958 national title.


Claiming LSU's only national title, Paul Dietzel's led LSU to its first undefeated, untied season in 50 years with a thrilling victory over the visiting Tigers. It was the Bayou Bengals' first Sugar Bowl victory. Billy Cannon threw a 9-yard scoring pass to Mickey Mangham in the third quarter, and the Chinese Bandits held Clemson in check for the victory.


While LSU has visited the Sugar more than any other bowl, the Tigers have logged memorable victories in a number of other bowl games. No game may register higher in the annals of Tiger football than the Tigers 1966 win over Arkansas in the Cotton Bowl.


Pat Screen took over for injured Nelson Stokley and directed the Tigers to a great upset over second-ranked and unbeaten Arkansas.


Joe Labruzzo ran three yards for one score and went over from a yard out for the other. The Razorbacks scored on Jon Brittenum's 16-yard pass to Bobby Crockett, but a Jerry Joseph interception stopped the Hogs' last chance in the game and ended a 22-game Arkansas win streak.

While the Tangerine Bowl wasn't the most attractive destination for the 1979 Tigers, LSU's 34-10 victory meant more than just any other win.


David Woodley directed the Tigers offense effectively as LSU sent long-time coach Charlie McClendon out a winner with a 24-point victory over the Demon Deacons. It was also the Tigers' first postseason win in eight years having lost two prior bowl contests in 1977 and 1978.


The 1980s were a disappointing time in postseason play with LSU's only bowl victory being a 30-13 win over South Carolina in the 1987 Gator Bowl. Lean years then set in and the Tigers did not play in a bowl, much less win one, until Gerry DiNardo arrived in 1995.


The Tigers wrapped up the first year of the DiNardo era with a 45-26 win over Michigan State before a sellout crowd of 48,835.


The teams battled evenly in a first half of big plays that included a 78-ya rd TD pass by Michigan State on the second play of the game, an Eddie Kennison kickoff return for a touchdown for LSU, a Michigan State kickoff return for a touchdown and a 51-yard TD run by Kevin Faulk that contributed to a 24-21 MSU halftime lead.


But the Tigers broke it open in the second half with 24 unanswered points, including a fumble return for a touchdown by defensive end Gabe Northern. Northern went on to claim defensive player of the game honors.


Faulk rushed for a bowl record 234 yards -- the second most rushing yards by an LSU player -- to capture the offensive MVP award. In all, LSU set or tied 11 Independence Bowl records in the romp.


The DiNardo marriage ended with back-to-back losing seasons in 1998 and 1999. The arrival of Nick Saban in Baton Rouge landed the Tigers in the 2000 Peach Bowl as heavy underdogs to homestanding Georgia Tech.


Rohan Davey came off the bench in the second half to lead the Tigers to a 28-14 come-from-behind win over Georgia Tech in the Peach Bowl.


Trailing 14-3 at halftime, Davey started the second half and led the Tigers to a TD on the first possession. In all, Davey threw three second half TD passes, tying an LSU bowl record, and he finished the contest with 17 completions in 25 attempts for 174 yards. Davey hit wideout Josh Reed on a 9-yard scoring pass early in the fourth quarter to give the Tigers the lead for good at 17-14. Reed finished the game with nine receptions for 96 yards, while fullback Tommy Banks capped his senior season with two TD receptions and a career-best seven catches for 71 yards. Georgia Tech entered the contest with only 12 turnovers all season, however the Tiger defense forced the Yellow Jackets into six turnovers, including four fumbles.




SUGAR (4-7-0)

vs. TCU 2-3 L Jan. 1, 1936

vs. Santa Clara 14-21 L Jan. 1, 1937

vs. Santa Clara 0-6 L Jan. 1, 1938

vs. Oklahoma 0-35 L Jan. 1, 1950

vs. Clemson 7-0 W Jan. 1, 1959

vs. Ole Miss 0-21 L Jan. 1, 1960

vs. Syracuse 13-10 W Jan. 1, 1965

vs. Wyoming 20-13 W Jan. 1, 1968

vs. Nebraska 10-28 L Jan. 1, 1985

vs. Nebraska 15-30 L Jan. 1, 1987

vs. Illinois 47-34 W Jan. 1, 2002


PEACH (3-0-0)

vs. Florida State 31-27 W Dec.30,1968

vs. Clemson 10-7 W Dec.28,1996

vs. Georgia Tech 28-14 W Dec.29,2000


COTTON (2-1-1)

vs. Arkansas 0-0 T Jan. 1, 1947

vs. Texas 13-0 W Jan. 1, 1963

vs. Arkansas 14-7 W Jan. 1, 1966

vs. Texas 35-20 L Jan 1, 2003


ORANGE (2-3-0)

vs. Texas A&M 19-14 W Jan. 1, 1944

vs. Colorado 25-7 W Jan. 1, 1962

vs. Nebraska 12-17 L Jan. 1, 1971

vs. Penn State 9-16 L Jan. 1, 1974

vs. Nebraska 20-21 L Jan. 1, 1983



vs. Michigan State 45-26 W Dec. 29, 1995

vs. Notre Dame 27-9 W Dec. 28, 1997


SUN (1-1-0)

vs. Iowa State 33-15 W Dec.18, 1971

vs. Stanford 14-24 L Dec. 31, 1977


BLUEBONNET (0-2-0) (Formerly Astro Bluebonnet)

vs. Baylor 7-14 L Dec. 21, 1963

vs.  Tennessee 17-24 L Dec. 30, 1972


GATOR (1-0-0)

vs. South Carolina 30-13 W Dec. 31, 1987


FLORIDA CITRUS (1-0-0) (formerly Tangerine)

vs. Wake Forest 34-10 W Dec. 22, 1979


HALL OF FAME (0-1-0)

vs. Syracuse 10-23 L Jan. 2, 1989


LIBERTY (0-2-0)

vs. Missouri 15-20 L Dec. 23, 1978

vs. Baylor 7-21 L Dec. 27, 1985

Tiger Blitz Top Stories