SEC Coaches pick 8 Tigers for all-league teams

Football coaches in the Southeastern Conference have picked eight LSU players on their post-season all-league teams. Four Tigers were named to the first unit while four more were selected on the second team.

Wide receiver Josh Reed and running back LaBrandon Toefield were first-team offensive selections a day after receiving the same recognition from the Associated Press. On defense, linebackers Trev Faulk and Bradie James were named to the first unit. Faulk was also on the AP first-team defense while James was an honorable mention All-SECselection by sportswriters.

Making the second team from LSU were quarterback Rohan Davey, offensive tackle Jason Baggett, defensive back Damien James and defensive end Jarvis Green. Davey and James were also on the AP All-SEC second team.

Florida quarterback Rex Grossman and Arkansas coach Houston Nutt earned SEC Player and Coach of the Year honors respectively, while Auburn offensive lineman Kendall Simmons was awarded the Jacobs Trophy as the league's best blocker.

Grossman was chosen for his honor on seven of a possible 11 ballots. The sophomore from Bloomington, Ind., led the SEC and the nation in passing efficiency with a rating of 170.8. Grossman completed 259 of 395 passes for 3,896 yards with 34 touchdowns and 12 interceptions. He broke school records for pass completion percentage (65.6), passing yards, total offensive yards and broke the SEC record for total offensive yards per play (9.10).

Nutt directed the Razorbacks to a 7-4 overall and 4-4 SEC record. Arkansas started the season with a 1-3 record and went on to win its next six games.

Simmons, a senior from Ripley, Miss., was a key performer for Auburn, which finished as a co-champion in the SEC West with a 7-4 overall and 5-3 SEC record.

Florida led all teams with six players on the first team followed by Tennessee with five and LSU with four. Eight of the 12 SEC teams had a representative on the first-team All-SEC squad, and all 12 schools are represented on either the first and second teams.

Ten players on the first unit are repeat performers, including Simmons, Reed, Ole Miss offensive lineman Terrence Metcalf, Florida offensive lineman Mike Pearson, Florida wide receiver Jabar Gaffney, Florida defensive lineman Alex Brown, Tennessee defensive lineman John Henderson, South Carolina outside linebacker Kalimba Edwards, Florida defensive back Lito Sheppard, Georgia defensive back Tim Wansley and Auburn punter Damon Duval.

Gaffney, Edwards Grossman and Tennessee running back Travis Stephens were the only unanimous All-SEC selections.

Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players, thus a unanimous selection earns 11 of 112 first-team votes. The Coaches' All-SEC Freshman team will be released on Thursday, Dec. 6.

^ repeat selections     # unanimous selections     * ties


Pos., Name, School, Ht., Wt., Class, Hometown

TE, Randy McMichael, Georgia, 6-4, 228, Jr., Fort Valley, Ga.

^OL, Terrence Metcalf, Ole Miss, 6-4, 315, Sr., Clarksdale, Miss.

^OL, Mike Pearson, Florida, 6-7, 292, Jr., Seffner, Fla.

^OL, Kendall Simmons, Auburn, 6-3, 314, Sr., Ripley, Miss.

OL, Fred Weary, Tennessee, 6-4, 301, Sr., Montgomery, Ala.

C, Zac Zedalis, Florida, 6-3, 280, Sr., Alachua, Fla.

^#WR, Jabar Gaffney, Florida, 6-1, 202, So., Jacksonville, Fla.

^WR, Josh Reed, LSU, 5-11, 205, Jr., Rayne, La.

#QB, Rex Grossman, Florida, 6-1, 218, So., Bloomington, Ind.

#RB, Travis Stephens, Tennessee, 5-9, 190, Sr., Clarksville, Tenn.

RB, LaBrandon Toefield, LSU, 6-0, 224, So., Independence, La.

PK, Damon Duval, Auburn, 6-1, 186, Jr., Chattanooga, Tenn.


TE, Terry Jones, Jr., Alabama, 6-4, 267, Sr., Tuscaloosa, Ala.

OL, Jon Stinchcomb, Georgia, 6-6, 278, Jr., Lilburn, Ga.

OL, Melvin Paige, South Carolina, 6-5, 300, Sr., Dillon, S.C.

*OL, Jason Baggett, LSU, 6-5, 310, Sr., Baytown, Texas

*OL, Shane Hall, South Carolina, 6-6, 305, Jr., Indian Mills, N.J.

*OL, Pat Green, Vanderbilt, 6-7, 335, Sr., Emmaus, Pa.

*C, Ben Claxton, Ole Miss, 6-3, 288, Jr., Dublin, Ga.

*C, Curt McGill, Georgia, 6-4, 274, Sr., Snellville, Ga.

WR, Reche Caldwell, Florida, 6-0, 198, Jr., Tampa, Fla.

*WR, Donte' Stallworth, Tennessee, 6-1, 190, Jr., Sacramento, Calif.

*WR, Kelley Washington, Tennessee, 6-4, 225, Fr., Stephens City, Va.

*WR, Dan Stricker, Vanderbilt, 6-3, 201, Jr., Cincinnati, Ohio

QB, Rohan Davey, LSU, 6-3, 235, Sr., Miami, Fla.

RB, Lew Thomas, Vanderbilt, 6-0, 213, Sr., Atlanta, Ga.

*RB, Joe Gunn, Ole Miss, 5-10, 200, Sr., Amory, Miss.

*RB, Fred Talley, Arkansas, 5-9, 180, Jr., Longview, Texas

PK, Jeff Chandler, Florida, 6-2, 215, Sr., Jacksonville, Fla.


^DL, Alex Brown, Florida, 6-3, 264, Sr., White Springs, Fla.

^DL, John Henderson, Tennessee, 6-7, 290, Sr., Nashville, Tenn.

DL, Will Overstreet, Tennessee, 6-4, 260, Sr., Jackson, Miss.

^#OLB, Kalimba Edwards, South Carolina, 6-6, 262, Sr., East Point, Ga.

OLB, Bradie James, LSU, 6-3, 228, So., West Monroe, La.

ILB, Trev Faulk, LSU, 6-3, 225, Jr., Lafayette, La.

ILB, Saleem Rasheed, Alabama, 6-3, 223, Jr., Birmingham, Ala.

^DB, Lito Sheppard, Florida, 5-10, 194, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.

^DB, Tim Wansley, Georgia, 5-9, 172, Sr., Buford, Ga.

*DB, Syniker Taylor, Ole Miss, 6-0 1/2, 219, Sr., Gulfport, Miss.

*DB, Andre Lott, Tennessee, 5-11, 185, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.

*DB, Sheldon Brown, South Carolina, 5-10, 192, Sr., Fort Lawn, S.C.

^P, Damon Duval, Auburn, 6-1, 186, Jr., Chattanooga, Tenn.


DL, Charles Grant, Georgia, 6-4, 267, Jr., Colquitt, Ga.

DL, Kenny King, Alabama, 6-5, 277, Jr., Daphne, Ala.

*DL, Kindal Moorehead, Alabama, 6-4, 288, Jr., Memphis, Tenn.

*DL, Jarvis Green, LSU, 6-3, 265, Sr., Donaldsonville, La.

OLB, Boss Bailey, Georgia, 6-4, 218, Jr., Folkston, Ga.

OLB, Eddie Strong, Ole Miss, 6-4, 245, Jr., Batesville, Miss.

ILB, Andra Davis, Florida, 6-1, 254, Sr., Live Oak, Fla.

ILB, Dontarrious, Thomas Auburn, 6-4, 220, Sr., Perry, Ga.

DB, Pig Prather, Miss. State, 6-2, 186, Sr., Falkner, Miss.

DB, Todd Johnson, Florida, 6-1, 194, Jr., Sarasota, Fla.

DB, Andre Goodman, South Carolina, 5-10, 188, Sr., Greenville, S.C.

DB, Damien James, LSU, 5-11, 191, Jr., Carencro, La.

P, Glenn Pakulak, Kentucky, 6-3, 228, Jr., Lapeer, Mich.

SEC COACH OF THE YEAR - Houston Nutt, Arkansas
SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Rex Grossman, QB, Florida
JACOBS BLOCKING TROPHY - Kendall Simmons, OL, Auburn


Tiger Blitz Top Stories