Bass named SEC POY, Davis tabbed top freshman

LSU sophomore forward Brandon Bass was named the Southeastern Conference Player of the Year Tuesday by the Associated Press in a poll conducted of beat writers and broadcasters covering the 12 league teams.

Bass becomes the fifth LSU player since 1968 to win player of the year honors, the first since Stromile Swift was co-player of the year on the coaches' team in 2000. Pete Maravich was named player of the year in 1968, 1969 and 1970, followed by Chris Jackson in 1989 and 1990 and Shaquille O'Neal in 1991 and 1992.

The coaches All-SEC teams will be announced on Wednesday in Atlanta at the pre-tournament press conferences for the Southeastern Conference Tournament at the Georgia Dome.

Bass, from Baton Rouge, enters the tournament averaging 17.5 points per game, 8.8 rebounds per game while shooting 56.9 percent from the field, 77.1 percent at the free throw line with an average of 1.7 blocks per game. Bass ranked third in the league in scoring, 2nd in rebounds, 1st in field goal percentage and fourth in blocked shots.

On the first team with Bass were Lawrence Roberts of Mississippi State, Anthony Roberson of Florida, Kennedy Winston of Alabama and Chuck Hayes of Kentucky. Bass and Roberts were unanimous selections.

LSU freshman Glen Davis was named the Newcomer of the Year by the voting media of AP. Davis, named earlier in the day to two freshman All-America teams, is averaging 13.1 points per game, 8.7 rebounds per game and 1.3 blocks per game going into the tournament.

Davis is one the second team All-SEC quintet along with Ronnie Brewer, Arkansas; Kelenna Azubuike, Kentucky; David Lee, Florida; and, Earnest Shelton, Alabama. On the third team were Chuck Davis, Jermareo Davidson and Ronald Steele of Alabama, Carlos Powell of South Carolina, Patrick Sparks of Kentucky and Toney Douglas of Auburn.

The coach of the year was Tubby Smith of league champion Kentucky.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories