LSU golfer wins Louisiana Amateur

Senior Aaron Smith fired a 3-under par 69 in the final round Sunday to capture the title in the 86th edition of the Louisiana Golf Association Amateur Championship at Money Hill Golf and Country Club in Abita Springs, La.

Smith, who recorded rounds of 70, 70 and 74 in the first three rounds, overcame a two shot deficit heading into the final round to defeat Jeff Calloway of Baker, La., by one stroke with a four-round total of 5-under 283. Third-round leader Chris Walling of Lake Charles, La., finished two shots back in third place with a 3-under 285.

Smith is the fourth Tiger in five years to win the tournament, joining Alan Morgan (2001), John Humphries (2003) and Garrett Prather (2004) as recent LSU golfers to capture the prestigious title.

The Longwood, Fla., native just completed his junior season with Tigers, participating in three tournaments with a 76.33 stroke average in nine rounds. He was also named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll for the second time in his career.

Sophomore Brent Struthers and redshirt freshman Jake Creel also competed in the tournament, finishing in a tie for 10th and 18th, respectively. Struthers carded a 4-over 292 for the championship, including a 2-under 70 in the third round, while Creel recorded a 7-over 295.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories